Making a Pump Purchase – And the Winner is….

…The Medtronic Paradigm VEO!

(See here for the back-story.)

Ultimately, after hearing stories from both sides (i.e. Medtronic users and Animas users), I realized three things:

  1. No model of pump is free from issues.  Maybe my issues have been a bit extreme, but  any device that is expected to function 24/7 and is subjected to as many bumps, drops and general-life-related incidents is going to malfunction from time to time.  The fact that it’s a life-saving device means those malfunctions are a bigger deal, but they’re still going to happen.  It sucks, but it’s true.
  2. Customer service is an important factor to consider when making a pump-purchase decision.  The purchase itself isn’t likely the last you’ll be dealing with the pump company – especially given the possibility of the above-noted malfunctions.
  3. I need CGMS capabilities far more than I need to be able to swim tethered.  Also, in light of the fact that I’m currently breastfeeding, exhausted and caring for two small children (who I can’t yet rely on for a 911 call if needed), I’m not really in a position to wait for Dexcom to come to Canada.  I need CGMS now.

So that’s that.  Order’s in, and I should have my new pump this week.  I’m kind of excited!  🙂

12 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Mario on August 20, 2012 at 2:16 pm

    Cool! Both of them would be a good choice, but as I always say, it is mostly a personal choice.
    But the most important question: Which color? 😉

    Reply

  2. Yay! So happy you finally made the decision to stick with Minimed. Obviously I don’t KNOW first hand what its like to have diabetes, but I’m sure I’d want to go with the CGM option, too.
    So, the important question, which colour Veo did you get? 😉

    Reply

  3. Good for you!
    I’m really glad to read this.
    when mine is up for renewal I am sticking with Medtronic too for all the reasons you stated.
    Maybe if I lived in Florida and swam a lot, but I don’t. I rarely swim. Also, it could be years before Dexcom makes it’s way into Canada and right now Medtronic is the ONLY cgm option we have available to us.

    sweet choice. I’m happy for you!
    will you go with a colour?

    Reply

  4. I had a bit of remorse after getting my second Medtronic (not counting warranty replacements), but in the end, I’m glad I did. The Animas is waterproof, which is nice, but the Bolus Wizard on the Med-T is apparently superior to the Animas, and of course there’s the CGM. Congratulations on making your decision! I’m sure that’s an enormous burden that’s been lifted, and I’m sure it’s the right one.

    Oh… one more thing…. what color? 🙂

    Reply

  5. Posted by Sara on August 25, 2012 at 10:11 pm

    (Insert color joke here)

    I hadn’t realized Dexcom wasn’t in Canada yet – bummer! It sounds like we might get a Dexcom integrated Animas before you get Dexcom at all.

    Reply

  6. Posted by Elisa on September 5, 2012 at 7:50 am

    Excellent blog, thank you very much. You seemed to do an amazing job during the two pregnancies, I just hope I will be as good as you. I am planning to conceive in a few months – I should get the Medtronic CGMS later this week. Self-funded, but don’t we do whatever it takes…and hope that it will somehow be enough…! I need to get both HBA1c and sky-rocketing peaks down quickly. Control isn’t so bad and actually very good compared to what they seem to be used to at the local hospital, (last A1c was 6.3%) but I know it is just not good enough yet. Your blog will put things into perspective: the two girls are lovely!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

