Alright Baby, Let’s Do This

As of this time tomorrow, I will no longer be pregnant!  Yay!  C-section is scheduled for 9:00 tomorrow morning!

On Tuesday my OB (Dr. Awesome) confirmed that he was able to get me in for the first-thing-in-the-morning slot on Friday.  He did ask, though, that I keep my Fetal Assessment appointment for this week (i.e. Wednesday) just to be sure Baby B was still doing alright.

Fetal Assessment yesterday confirmed that she was, in fact, doing great!  Her growth even stabilized a bit (instead of continuing its rapid climb), so there were definitely no concerns.  I also saw a colleague of Dr. Awesome yesterday (as Dr. Awesome couldn’t squeeze me in), who did some last checks on me and gave me some last info.

Interestingly, my BP is now on the rise.  At the OB’s office yesterday I was 145/85!  Holy moly!  To be fair, I had just struggled out of my chair and onto the table, and was in the middle of discussing the process of being cut open when he slapped the cuff on me, but still…that’s a far cry from the 120/70 that I’ve been seeing as recently as last week.  I actually checked it again at home today and was 138/78, so not really a lot better – but my stress levels today aren’t exactly better either.  (I don’t relish the thought of being sliced open, in case that hasn’t been clear.)  Regardless, it seems to be a good thing that this pregnancy will be over tomorrow.

Tomorrow will be the 37 week mark.  That’s a full week longer than Baby B’s sister lasted in utero, and a week is a long time for a baby!  I’m pretty excited to have made it this far!  According to last week’s amnio, Baby B’s lungs should be sufficiently mature by the time they take their first breath of air tomorrow (what a shock that must be for a little one…), so I’m hoping we can just deal quickly with any bloodsugar issues that she might have at delivery and then get to keep her with us – and take her home with us – instead of enduring the 3-week hospital stay that we dealt with when The Kid was born.  But I guess we’ll see…

I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t stressing about this c-section.  My last one went really smoothly, and I really have no reason to believe that this one will be any different.  If anything it should be better, as last time I was highly swollen (thanks to pre-eclampsia) and had just experienced my first retinal haemorrhage (thanks to retinopathy)…and then had my baby hospitalized for three weeks.  Truly, all signs point to this being a better experience.  But it’s still surgery, and I’m still nervous.  Given the option, I’d prefer to remain in one piece tomorrow if there was another way to do this.  But there isn’t – at least not for me.

It would be a lot easier, I think, if I wasn’t dealing with all of the diabetes-management stress that goes with this.  For example:

– Will I be able to manage fasting tonight, or will I go low and need to treat?  (I’ve been told clear fluids are okay if necessary, but the literature I’ve been provided says they’re officially a “no-no”, so I’ll be trying to avoid them.)

– Will my bloodsugar spike in the morning thanks to my liver’s response to the stress and my lack of food?

– Will the insulin drip throw my bloodsugar out of whack?  Will someone be monitoring me closely enough to make changes if it does?

– Will I be able to keep my bloodsugar in range when Baby B is delivered so as to keep her as safe as possible and avoid low bloodsugar for her?  Will I plummet during surgery in trying to do so?

– How long after surgery will I be able to reconnect to my pump?  To eat?

– Are my planned post-partum basals and bolus ratios right?  Will I struggle with major highs and lows while I’m trying to recover and heal and rest and take care of my new little one, including breastfeeding?

– Will diabetes make me more prone to infection while I’m trying to heal?

As if it wasn’t enough to just deal with the surgery itself, right?

Anyway, at this time tomorrow I should be much more relaxed (not to mention more medicated).  It’s just the getting from here to there, I guess.

But in spite of the nervousness, I’m so ready for this.  I’m ready to be done with this crazy task of managing a diabetic pregnancy, to be done with carrying this huge belly (see below) on my puffy feet, and to meet my sweet Baby B.

Let’s do this!

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by kerri on April 5, 2012 at 4:38 pm

    Ahhh Bethany, SO excited for you!! And I can feel your excitement through this post. :] I told you a few days ago that this is the homestretch . . . but THIS is the homestretch!

    I hope everything comes into place as smoothly as possible and that this time tomorrow you’re holding sweet healthy Baby B in your arms!!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Mike Lawson on April 5, 2012 at 4:42 pm

    YAYAYA!!

    Reply

  3. Best wishes for an easy birth for the baby and you!

    Reply

  4. Posted by Sylvie on April 5, 2012 at 10:07 pm

    Thinking of you all the way Bethany…in your worries (and I hear you) and in your excitement!! Praying for a smooth transition for you, Baby B and all your family!

    Reply

  5. Bethany,

    I came across your website recently because I”m a newly diagnosed Type 1 diabetic who learned about the challenges associated with pregnancy. I’m so appreciative of your candor and wish you all the best tomorrow, as you welcome your new one into the world! Look forward to updates!

    Reply

  6. Awww – You look great!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

