The Gender Verdict

On Friday I had my first ultrasound at 19 weeks.  As with the last pregnancy, my husband and I had already decided that we definitely wanted to know the gender of the baby as soon as we were able – and that we’d be sharing this information with the general public.  (But no pictures yet, sorry.)

And as of Friday, the verdict is that we are having….a GIRL!  🙂

That said, the ultrasound technician did qualify her assessment by saying that the umbilical cord was positioned between the baby’s legs.  She was quite sure that she didn’t see any boy parts, but she wanted us to know that, if she was wrong, it was because of the uncooperative umbilical cord.

So for now we are going forward under the assumption that we are having a girl, but we will be able to confirm that at the first fetal assessment – which isn’t scheduled yet, but which I expect to occur in mid-late January or even early February.

Obviously I would have been content with either a boy or a girl, but this does make me happy for my 2 1/2 year old daughter who is now going to have a little sister!  It also makes me happy that we can reuse so much of the baby/toddler gear and clothing from the first go-around instead of having to get a whole new batch of boy stuff.  But if the verdict changes at the fetal assessment, I’ve got a list of reasons why I’d also be happy to have a boy, so I’m good either way.

It was amazing to be able to see the little one moving around in there, looking like a healthy little baby.  Not only does it make it so much more “real” (as if the exhaustion, nausea, sore hips and growing belly didn’t), but it also is a great reminder of why I’m doing all this hard work to manage my diabetes right now.  It’s that extra kick of motivation to keep at it for the sake of this tiny, wiggly, growing person who is 100% dependent on me and my ability to care for us.

I can do it. 🙂

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Karen on December 11, 2011 at 9:21 pm

    Congrats to you and the family. I’m so happy for you. I love that you blog so I can keep up with your life. Miss you. Karen

    Reply

  2. Oooooooo! That is so exciting! Ok, I would have been just as excited about a boy, so it’s ok if you find out differently later. Perhaps I’m just excited for you in general!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

