Pregnancy Update – First OB Appointment

It’s time for a quick pregnancy update.  If you’re not interested in reading about my pregnancy, you can skip this one.

This past week I had my first OB appointment.  I’m seeing the same OB as I did during my last pregnancy, and I absolutely love him.

The appointment went well, although long: waiting room, nurses, waiting, OB, tests, more waiting, more tests.  I guess it’s only the beginning of the hours and hours I will spend at appointments (and waiting for appointments) for this diabetic pregnancy.

My weight gain was good (about 4 lbs so far, although I look like I’ve gained about 10 lbs).  My BP – something we’ll be watching really carefully – was good (122/78).  And I got to hear Baby’s heartbeat!  Yay!  So exciting!  Unfortunately my husband missed this appointment since our daughter was sick that day and he was home with her.

So, all in all it was a good appointment.  I see him again in a month, and I have my first ultrasound around 20 weeks (I’m just about 12 weeks now – so another couple of months yet).

From a non-diabetes standpoint, it’s been a pretty good pregnancy week.  I’m still uber-tired, but starting to find a bit more energy here and there.  I had been sleeping really poorly (and having very weird dreams), but Tuesday’s acupuncture took care of that and I’ve been sleeping great since.  I’m also finally getting out of the queasy phase, which is really nice.  It hadn’t been too bad, but I was getting  a little tired of the car-sick feeling that seemed to show up off and on every day or two.  So it looks like my body is transitioning into the more comfortable 2nd trimester.  Whew!

From a diabetes standpoint, though, this week has been a bitch.  I’m having highs (I hit 15 mmol (270 mg/dl) yesterday and almost cried – my highest yet), and lows (woke up with a 2.7 mmol/l (48 mg/dl) nypo the other night and felt like I was going to die.  My husband and my CDE had been a bit worried a couple of weeks ago that I was putting myself under too much stress trying to keep my bloodsugars so tightly controlled, so I took their advice and eased up a bit, but I think the timing of that coincided with some wacky pregnancy hormone changes that have made a big mess of my D-management.  As a result, I’m more stressed out now by the highs and lows (and accompanying guilt) than I was before when I was trying to keep tight control (and usually succeeding).  I talk to my CDE again tomorrow and will be doing some trend-analysis today in preparation for that, so hopefully I/we can come up with some solutions that involve a better balance of control (more) and stress (less).

In short – I would like to confirm that it’s still a lot of work being pregnant with diabetes. 😛

11 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by marianne on October 16, 2011 at 1:45 pm

    Hello Bethany!

    Thankyou for a nice blog, I am also type 1 and enjoy reading about your experiences. Just a question, you go to acupuncture, is it specifically pregnancy related or are there other reasons you do it ? Thanks!

    Marianne.

    Reply

    • The acupuncture I get isn’t specifically pregnancy related. It’s for all sorts of stuff. I’ve been moving in the direction of “holistic health” recently and this is part of that.

      Reply

  2. Love acupuncture, just wish I could afford it on a regular basis.
    Great update (despite the wacky BG uncontrolled-ness). Looking forward to following babies growth. And hopefully all this info you are writing will help me one day.

    Reply

  3. It is a lot of working being a type 1 diabetic and pregnant! I’m 25 weeks and type 1 and it is a constant titration of insulin doses and blood sugar monitoring. The more my placenta grows and grows the more insulin I take! Sometimes you can do everything that you can possibly do and you can still get a wacky blood sugar. Hope you have a healthy pregnancy!

    Reply

  4. Posted by Nicole on October 21, 2011 at 6:19 pm

    You can do it!!! You’ve done it once and have a healthy little girl 🙂 That is what I keep telling myself anyways! I am on baby number two also – just hit my third trimester today and have seen some wacko numbers recently. But as long as there are no keytones I am a happy camper. Keep us posted – love reading your blog!

    Reply

  5. Posted by Stacy on October 30, 2011 at 9:26 pm

    Hi Nicole! I love reading your blog and was stoked to hear you are pregnant. I’m a type 1 – diagnosed at age 30 – about 2 years ago. I’m 8 weeks into my first diabetic pregnancy (I had two other pregnancies before diabetes) and it has been very interesting so far to say the least. I had a major low last night – throwing up and everything from morning sickness – and couldn’t get out of the 30’s for 45 minutes. Not fun! Have you ever experienced that? I think I threw up a lot of the carbs I had just eaten which was part of the problem.

    Love reading your posts! Any diabetes pregnancy info you care to share I LOVE to read.

    Reply

  6. Posted by Stacy on November 27, 2011 at 3:59 pm

    Sorry – Bethany. You. Anyways, I’m 12 weeks now and still sick but doing good. Glad to hear there are other type 1-ers out there that are doing well with pregnancy. Sometimes I feel so alone with all this extra “stuff” we get to worry about. 🙂 So fun!

    Reply

    • Hi Stacy. Sorry to hear you’re still sick! If you’re at 12 weeks now, hopefully it will be subsiding SOON! I have a pregnancy-related post coming out soon (hopefully later this week), so check back for more that may be of interest to you. Glad to help you feel a little less “alone”! Feel free to email me anytime too.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

