Some Randoms

I haven’t done a random list of unrelated (or partially related) stuff for a while, so here’s one for you….

1. This was my lunch today.  It was a-maz-ing.  Two slices of Weight Watchers 100% whole wheat bread, a bit of light Miracle Whip, sliced grilled seasoned chicken, grated marble cheddar cheese, and some italian seasoning…..toasted to perfection in my toaster oven.  My husband always makes this delicious sandwich, and today it was my turn.  With my special bread, it was only 15g (net) of carbs (that’s 20g CHO less 5g fibre)…plus maybe 1/2 a gram for the Miracle Whip (I only use a bit).  YES!!!

2. I was recently introduced to almond milk by another woman with diabetes that I know.  (This is a different brand than she recommended, but the only one I could find in unsweetened.)  Cow’s milk tends to spike my bloodsugar a lot, so I tend to avoid it in drinking quantities.  This stuff (unsweetened) has only 3g of CHO and 1g of fibre for 2g net CHO per cup.  And if it’s not sweet enough for ya…add a bit of Splenda!  It’s not bad for a milk substitute.

3. Okay, this isn’t 12 of 12, so no more pictures.  The last time I was pregnant I craved things like salmon and eggs.  I was lucky.  What pregnant woman has healthy cravings like that – let alone one with diabetes?!  This time I haven’t been so lucky.  For a while it was salt, and I was managing okay, but lately it’s been all the worst NSFD (not suitable for diabetes) sweets – lemon meringue pie, chocolate fudge, massive bakery muffins, donuts….aaaaaaahhhh!!!!  I haven’t given in yet because I’m too scared of the impact on my bloodsugar.  So today I’m trying to appease my cravings in two ways: (a) really thin pieces of really dark chocolate (b) these low-carb lemon poppyseed muffins that I’m about to make.  I haven’t made them yet, or you’d have another picture here.  (My dietitian assures me that baking quantities of Splenda are still safe during pregnancy.  Whew!)

4. On to something other than food…. I recently had to have my Contour USB meter replaced because it was acting up on me.  Every now and then, after counting down to zero, it would stall out on me and then give me an error message instead of a bloodsugar reading.  Bayer was great in replacing my meter and also giving me some extra test strips to make up for the wasted ones.  But now, no more than a week after starting the new one…it’s not working either!  When I put the test strip in, there’s a funny click and it doesn’t turn on like it’s supposed to.  Sometimes it still does, but most of the time it doesn’t.  (The battery is fully charged.  It’s not that.)  So it looks like I’ll be replacing this one now too!  Disappointing.

5. This pregnancy is making me more tired than I ever remember being with the last one.  So tired.  I need about 10 hours of sleep per night to be fully functional – and that’s completely impossible during the week.  I don’t have anything else to say about that.

6. This past week I had the pleasure of sitting down for lunch with a woman who works for the same company as me who is a diabetes veteran and has retinopathy.  I hadn’t actually met her before, so she joked when we met up that we were having a “blind date” (LOL…retinopathy humour).  It’s typically been pretty easy for me to find people with diabetes around me to connect with, but I have to be honest that connecting with someone else with diabetic retinopathy is really something special.  Not to downplay diabetes at all, but to be able to talk to someone who truly understands what it’s like to have that first retinal haemorrhage, and truly understands the fear of more bleeds, more lasers, more proliferation, and more vision loss (temporary or permanent), is sadly comforting.  I’ve been lucky enough to meet other people like this online – through forums and through this blog – but this is the first time I’ve been able to meet one of these people in person.  Hopefully some day I can have some more “blind dates”.  🙂

All for now.  I have an appointment with Dr. Ophtho this week, so I’ll probably have some more on the topic of retinopathy for you before long.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Sylvie on October 3, 2011 at 6:28 pm

    1. My usb meter does this same thing: ‘Every now and then, after counting down to zero, it would stall out on me and then give me an error message instead of a bloodsugar reading.’ I have not replaced it however, but it is frustrating when a strip is wasted!!!
    2. I will be trying those yummy sounding muffins, I hope!
    3. Thanks for the good idea–almond milk, cause dairy milk does the same spike to my bg as well. In fact, I sometime use it to treat a low.
    4. Good luck with the Dr. Ophtho…..hope it is nothing but GREAT news!!

    PS “Baking a bun” takes a lot of energy, as you know 🙂 Still really excited for YOU!!

    Reply

    • Sylvie, you should look into getting that USB replaced! As far as the muffins go, unless you like things really sweet, I think the recipe would be just as good with a bit less Splenda. I think next time I might try cutting it down. Dr. Ophtho went well. I’ll be posting about it soon, as well as my new A1C. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

