12 of 12 – September (Better Late Than Never)

12 of 12 was created by Chad Darnell (you can find his website and a bunch of 12 of 12 links here), and has bloggers worldwide taking 12 photos throughout the day on the 12th day of each month.

If you missed them, you can check out my 12 of 12 for previous months here!

This may be my tardiest 12 ever and for that I do apologize.  My week somehow managed to completely get away on me.  But here they (finally) are:

1. This is my fancy toothbrush.  It spins and jiggles and really does quite a nice job of cleaning my teeth.  The best thing about it, though, is that it was free.  FREE!  One day a few weeks ago, I was grocery shopping at Superstore, and after the cashier rang up my groceries, she said, “You’ve qualified for a free gift because you’ve spent over $200 today!” (It was an expensive trip.)  And then I was given this toothbrush.  It even came with a spare head!  Yes!  It pays to spend too much at Superstore!

2.  My work bag was a little too full in the morning.  That’s my lunch bag you see poking through.

3. I spent a few days this week doing a food log for my dietitian to do a quick check of whether I’m still getting “all the right stuff” in my diet, even though I eat (mostly) low-carb and don’t eat many grains.  Here you see my typical breakfast.

4. I had an acupuncture appointment over the lunch hour and managed to get a needle picture.  I think this point is P.6.  She put a bunch in my back, this one in my arm, and a couple in my leg.  Then she left me alone to nap.  Ahhh….

5. I had a meeting that required me to connect my laptop to a projector in our meeting room.  I borrowed a nice long network cable from a co-worker (thanks Angela!) who told me it was great for moving around the room if I needed to.  The only problem was that I couldn’t untangle it any better than what you see above.  So my computer and I stayed pretty stationary.

6. Snack time!  I love these.  Mmm….

7. This is one of the best kid-related inventions (other than the diaper) of all time.  It’s a snack cup with a rubbery top so little fingers go in but little Cheerios don’t come out when it’s dropped or turned upside down.  Awesome.

8. I got these lilies from my wonderful husband last week.  They were beautiful then and they’re still going strong!

9. I had a small incident with my usual lancing device (for bloodtests – I don’t joust) so I used this backup Microlet2 that I had from my CDE.  I literally had to make at least 10 attempts before I was able to draw blood with this thing.  The needle was just bouncing off my calloused fingers.  Bayer, you need to put a stronger spring in these things.  Just sayin’.

10.  Yogurt.  In a tube.  Frozen.  Need I say more?

11. Making my lunch for the next day.  I weigh my food.  Not every single thing, because some things I just know and can eyeball by now, but some I can’t.  My fancy scale has a food database in it, which is great, and came with a book of all the codes, but since I don’t regularly require the code for things like swordfish, I decided to make a list of the foods I do normally eat.  As you can see, my list is well-used.

12.  Playing my current favourite iPad2 game before bed – Cleopatra’s Pyramid.  It’s solitaire, it’s addictive (to nerds like me), and once they hook you, they charge you to play the more advanced levels.  (Bastards!)  The busty sphinx is a bit odd, though.  (Crossing my fingers that someone now finds my blog via the search term “busty sphinx”.  I’ll be watching…)

3 responses to this post.

  1. Some of your captions were absolutely hysterical. I enjoyed the jousting one especially ;).

    Frozen yogurt tubes brought me back to work this summer [ps. when your kiddo is five you should send her to the daycare I work at so I can play with her and see her adorableness all day :P], soooo yummy.

    Purple network cable = awesome. And non-spilly snack cup . . . I need one of those ;). As do ALL of the kids at work. I need to buy stock in the company. :]

    Great 12! :]

    Reply

  2. I totally need one of those little containers for myself… I’m constantly spilling snacks (almonds, etc) and this could REALLY come in handy.

    I’ve been putting off getting a scale… yours is helping me get one step closer. 🙂

    Thanks for sharing your day!
    – Jill

    Reply

Leave a Reply

