13 of 12 – August

Yeah, you read right.  I cheated.  Since I actually did stuff on the 12th this month (as opposed to so many previous 12s done from home), I had a lot of trouble narrowing my pictures down to just 12.  Let’s just call it a baker’s dozen. 🙂

This month I used Camera+ on my iPhone, so any effects you see in the pictures below are from that fun app.

Also, I’d like to point you in the direction of my friend Genifer, who did her first 12 of 12 this month!  Actually, she only did 11, but it’s her first time.  Go check her out.

Now the schpiel:

12 of 12 was created by Chad Darnell (you can find his website and a bunch of 12 of 12 links here), and has bloggers worldwide taking 12 photos throughout the day on the 12th day of each month.

If you missed them, you can check out my 12 of 12 for previous months here!

1. Part of my breakfast – blackberries!  Yum!  I ate them with yogurt and walnuts.  Delicious!

2. This is my friend Lauren.  We went to Starbucks for coffee on her break.  See that smile on her face?  It’s pretty much always there, and is one of the reasons that a lot of people are going to miss her when she moves to Ontario in a few weeks. 😦

3. On the way back from Starbucks I popped in to HMV quickly for these two CDs.  I didn’t have any CDs from either of these ladies, so I’m trying them out.

4. It was United Way Bingo Day at work.  Bingo Day always happens on a Friday when I’m not working, but this time I was actually working on Bingo Day!  Unfortunately I didn’t win.  I still had 2 squares left (for blackout) when the winner was called.  Booourns.

5. This is Kerri.  Kerri and I met through 12 of 12, and found out that we live in the same city, so we’ve been trying to meet up for 12 of 12 for a few months already and this time it finally worked out!  We met over the lunch hour and took a walk around downtown Winnipeg for some shots.  Don’t forget to check out her 12 here!  She actually managed to get a picture of the two of us together!

6. We walked by the fountains on Memorial Ave, but my pictures of them didn’t turn out well.  These are the stones leading up to the fountain.  You can see the water from the fountain pool in the cracks (although not in this picture).

7. Silhouette of the Golden Boy (atop the Legislative Building) in the golden sun.

8. The Vaughn Street Jail (no longer a jail).

9. The Winnipeg Clinic.  It looks like it belongs in either the 70s or the Jetsons.  Or both (i.e. someone watching the Jetsons in the 70s…?)  I see a couple of doctors here.

10. This is my friend Richard.  He consented to a picture for my 12, but did not consent to posing for one, so I was forced to play paparazzi and try to take a surprise candid photo with an iPhone camera that is not very paparazzi-esque.  Anyway, we went to Tim Hortons (I’m not usually a 2-coffees-per-day girl, but it was Friday so I made an exception).  He may or may not be levitating a donut in this picture.

11. The waiting room of the Youville Diabetes Centre.  I had an appointment there after work.  There’s a Flickr site for pictures like these, but I haven’t posted this one yet.  Maybe I will.

12. Ran to Costco for a few things after supper.  Oh Costco….Christmas in August?  Is this not just a little ridiculous?

13. Stewing about fragrances.  I’m looking for a new one and tried a few during the day.  This one is a definite contender, but by bedtime I could hardly smell it on me anymore and my husband couldn’t smell it at all, so I’m not sure it’s the right one for me.  Also in the running is Hugo Boss XX.  Still not sure, though…

That’s all!  Hope you enjoyed them!

13 responses to this post.

  1. lovely photos !

    Reply

  2. I thought it was bad here (Buffalo, NY) when we saw Halloween candy at the stores… CHRISTMAS!?!? NOoooooo!

    I broke the rules on my 12, too… maybe that’s something that happens when two people are shooting together.

    Looks like you had a great day (except the BINGO loss), thanks for sharing.

    Reply

  3. As always, wonderful 12. The blackberries look DELICIOUS!!

    You had a very social 12th this month.

    Reply

  4. Posted by kerri on August 13, 2011 at 3:13 pm

    OMG we both had blackberries in our 12s! :]

    Are my eyes closed in that picture? Oh well, at least I look really happy LOL.

    Your pictures from our walk look suuuuper cool, way better than mine! Love them. [Maybe I should be using an iPod app for 12s to help my photography skills out.] Oh Winnipeg clinic — think I can ditch any of my four doctors in there anytime soon?

    Great thirteen! I had so much fun wandering with you, we’ll have to see if we can make it work again another month when we’re both downtown on the 12th!

    Reply

  5. Hi, I followed you here via Kerri’s blog. Uber jealous of meeting up in real life. Gorgeous pictures! I especially like the one of the sky over the building.

    You buy CDs? I dont’ think I know anyone in real life who still does that. Nice job supporting Amy Winehouse after her death. I was never such a fan of her music, but she was quite talented.

    Reply

  6. You got some really pretty photos! I LOVE LOVE #6,7&8! wow, stunning.
    Looks like you had a really good day. and congrats for not either being sick or taking car of someone who was sick 🙂

    Reply

  7. Going up tomorrow 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

