Top 5 Things I Wish I Could Do

Since this uber-crazy May/June schedule is still in full swing (over soon…), I decided to search for a meme today.  I found this which is all about Top 5 lists.  I like lists, so I’m giving one of them a go.

Top 5 Things I Wish I Could Do

I could easily think of 5 diabetes-related things for this list, but I’m choosing not to.  Those are too obvious.  So, once I’ve wished for the functioning pancreas, clear vision, etc., here are the next 5 things I wish I could do:

1. Dance like a pro.  All styles – ballroom, contemporary, hip hop…. I even want to krump!

2. Sing like a pro.  I don’t want to be a rock star or anything, but I’d like to be that person about whom other people say, “Hey, I didn’t know you could sing so well!”

3. Swim.  I can probably swim to save my life if my boat capsizes reasonably close to shore, but even that is questionable.  Sad.

4. Speak more languages.  I’ve got pretty basic French, but that’s it.  I’d love to speak it, and at least two more languages, fluently.  Preferably Spanish and Italian.

5. Make a decent living doing something I love.  I don’t dislike my job.  Most of the time I kind of like it.  But I really envy the people who can make money doing the things they truly love.  The people for whom work doesn’t feel like work. 

Hmm….this list ended up being a bit depressing.  I didn’t see that coming.  Maybe I should have.

 

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Mario on June 1, 2011 at 9:24 pm

    Maybe I can do something for no 4 😉

    Reply

  2. So what are you doing to accomplish stuff on this list? 😉
    You HAVE done a lot with your life, so if you look at your “top things I want to do” list from, say, finished high school, you’d see lots are already crossed off – awesome hubby, adorable kid, big slobbery dog, you’ve done some traveling and you write a popular blog! So now I want to be there when you swim to your rock star stage, sing a few songs in Spanish, and put on an awesome show with all your dancers. Um. Not sure what to do about the dayjob, though.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Mario on June 1, 2011 at 9:56 pm

    As a scuba diver, I can only teach you to sink 😉

    Reply

  4. LOL guys…

    Reply

  5. Posted by ty on June 1, 2011 at 11:46 pm

    I wish I could pilot my own plane…. but I guess being Type I kinda keeps me grounded. And also I don’t have the money for it either. Wishlist!

    Also: some news on the stem cells for Type 1s. http://www.latimes.com/health/la-he-stem-cells-diabetes-20110530,0,7664288.story

    Reply

Leave a Reply

