Walking in the JDRF Walk to Cure Diabetes

Once again, my husband and my daughter and I will be walking in the Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation (JDRF) Walk to Cure Diabetes, and today I’m asking for your support. 

This is a particularly important year for us as 2011 marks the 30-year anniversary of my diagnosis with Type 1 diabetes.  In the last few years, we’ve really felt the impact of this disease as we’ve dealt with my pregnancy as well as the simultaneous advancements in my retinopathy.  At the same time, we hope and pray that our daughter’s pancreas doesn’t follow in the footsteps of her mother’s.

Please consider supporting us as we walk on June 12th this year.  Or consider walking yourself!  Or consider supporting the JDRF outside of the walk.  No matter which way you support the JDRF, your donation will help bring us one step closer to the prevention and cure of Type 1 Diabetes. 

To pledge me online, click here:  https://jdrfca.donordrive.com/index.cfm?fuseaction=donate.start&destination=P&eventID=881&participantID=98623

If the link above doesn’t work for you, you can enter my name here:  http://jdrfca.donordrive.com/index.cfm?fuseaction=donorDrive.donate

If you’d like to participate in the walk yourself, click here for Canada and here for the U.S.

And if you’d just like to make a donation to the JDRF outside of the walk, click here for Canada and here for the U.S.

(Note:  When I donated, I was getting an error on the page until I included a decimal point and the amount of cents in the donation box.  E.g. $50.00 instead of $50.)

If you would prefer to donate via cash or cheque, you can email me at mewithd@gmail.com .

 Thank you!

P.S. The walk is on a 12 of 12 day, so be sure to check back for pictures!

Leave a Reply

