Some Stuff

My schedule’s all wacky lately, meaning that my blog-writing times are somehow missing, so I’m not keeping up very well.  As a result, in lieu of a nice cohesive post, here’s some random ramblings.

1. I just bought an iPhone 4!  Yay!  It’s my first iPhone and I’m very excited.  I was using a Blackberry Pearl and was pretty ready to get rid of that.  (See also: crappy rollerball, connectivity problems, and condensed keypad.)  That said, I have yet to figure out how to get my calendar to sync from Outlook on my home PC, so I’m feeling a little lost right now.  At least I have the weekend to figure it out.  Oh, and I seriously need a case for it before my toddler gets her little hands on it!

2. I also just bought a latté.  It was supposed to be a grande decaf soy latté with sugar-free caramel from Starbucks, but I don’t think that’s actually what it is.  It’s my usual order (usual = once every 2 weeks or so), so I know what it’s supposed to taste like and this isn’t it.  I think they put cinnamon syrup in instead.  It’s still good, but not what I wanted.  Hopefully they didn’t accidentally put non-sugar-free cinnamon in or I’m going to have an issue in a bit.  I thought of taking it back since I paid almost $6 for it (over $6 if you include tip), and for that price I deserve to get what I asked for…but I hate being the person who says, “This doesn’t taste right.”  I don’t want to make the barista feel bad – especially if other customers are listening.  Is that crazy?  Should I have gone back?

3. Last night my CGMS woke me up ever 2 hours to tell me that my bloodsugar was high.  Because I love sleep and hate being woken up, this made me a little grumpy.  It also makes me a little grumpy that this has been a trend lately (the nighttime highs, not the grumpiness).  Not sure what’s going on.

4. Also last night, I woke up with searing pain at my infusion site that resulted in a middle-of-the-night infusion set change.  Perhaps the searing pain explains #3 above.  (See also: bad site.)

5. I’ve actually been having a lot of site frustrations lately.  My infusion sites seem to go bad quickly, or end up painful and my sensor sites are hit-and-miss.  With respect to the former, I think I’m hitting muscle in my leg from time to time.  Or scar tissue.  I must have a lot of scar tissue by now.  Yuck.  With respect to the latter, I think I’m finally concluding that it’s just the extra flesh around my middle that I acquired during my significant weight gain during my pregnancy.  (See also: 50 lbs.)

6. My D-motivation lately is shit.  That’s all I have to say about that.

7. Go GSP!

😉

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Sarah on April 30, 2011 at 5:38 pm

    Oh, how I feel your pain with those night time lows/highs. I could chuck the Dex right across the room when it gets me up. I still haven’t been able to put a finger on mine, but here is to both of us finding peace at night soon!

    Reply

  2. Posted by sylvie on May 1, 2011 at 9:09 pm

    Sometimes I think you are writing from MY “Book of life”! lol

    Reply

Leave a Reply

