Month 1 – A1C Update

Wow, I really seriously never thought I would share my A1C on a public blog, but here I am.  I’ve come a long way.

A little over a month ago my A1C was 7.2.  My preference is to be in the 6s, but frankly I was expecting higher and was pretty darn okay with a 7.2.

Shortly after that, it became my goal to get my diabetes under tight control before my next endo appointment to prove to myself and to my endo that I would be capable of having the safest diabetic/retinopathic (is that a word?) pregnancy possible.  That goal was to be achieved within three months.

My CDE agreed to do a monthly A1C test to watch the progress (hopefully), so we established a “baseline” on her machine (since portable machine results can differ slightly from lab results) almost exactly a month ago .  It was 7.1.

Now, a month later, it was time for my first “monthly” test. 

The result? 

6.6

That makes me smile.  I’m on my way, baby.  🙂

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by pj on March 8, 2011 at 10:27 am

    you go girl! 🙂

    Reply

  2. Posted by Jen on March 9, 2011 at 12:17 pm

    Way to go!!
    I am in my first tri for baby #1, and I had an AIC of 6.1 last visit, trying to get below a 6 if possible!

    Reply

  3. Posted by sylvie on March 12, 2011 at 8:56 pm

    Encouraging me…motivating me ….impressing me!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

