Forget Diabetes

The last few weeks I’ve been in a real I-hate-diabetes state of mind.  Lately it seems like there are daily reminders of why diabetes is a pain in my ass.  It’s funny to me that a lot of people think needles are the worst thing about diabetes, because really the fingersticks are barely a blip on my miseries-of-diabetes radar screen, but to each his (or her) own, I guess. 

So here, with a nod to Cee Lo Green (because I’m trying to keep this blog at least moderately clean), is my “Forget Diabetes” list:

1. Forget persistent lows!  Last week I was low virtually every afternoon and virtually every evening.  I had no energy and an ongoing annoying headache as a result.  I’d eat and my bloodsugar wouldn’t go up.  So I’d eat more…and more..until it finally went up!  And up.  And up….  which brings me to….

2. Forget persistent highs!  When my bloodsugar would finally go up, it wouldn’t come back down because I’d carb-loaded so much!  No surprise really, but still uber frustrating, especially because they were typically at night!  And because I was wearing a CGMS sensor….

3. Forget CGMS alarms!  Okay, maybe they’re a good thing (when they’re accurate), but waking up to them every 1.5 hours at night for a few nights in a row is not cool!  Maybe it’s not fair to take that out on the CGMS, but I’m just in that kind of mood.  On that note…

4. Forget inaccurate and expensive CGMS sensors!  I finally got one working really really well last week, so this week I was majorly peeved when my next one didn’t last more than a day.  (Turns out I’ve finally narrowed it down to an angle issue – more on that in a future post.)  I pay for these complicated little things out-of-pocket ($50 each), so a dud is seriously peeve-worthy.  And while we’re on the topic of invasive diabetes technology…

5.  Forget painful infusion sites!  Yesterday’s went into my upper outer thigh and seemed fine until 5:30 this morning when I couldn’t even lie on that side thanks to the discomfort, and then again at 8:30 this morning when I bent down to pick something up and the movement of my jeans against the site made me yelp in pain!  And another thing that’s a pain….

6. Forget broken lancing devices!  My Microlet 2 no longer works.  It wasn’t that long ago that I got it, so I’m definitely disappointed.  Thankfully I had a back-up lancing device – a few actually, since I’m a bit obsessive about testing.  Which is why I’d also like to say…

7. Forget forgetting test strips at home!  The other day I got to work and found that I’d only brought 3 test strips!  For some people that would be plenty, but I’m Ms. Upwards-of-10-Tests-per-Day, so this made for a stressful day of rationing test strips.  I felt so limited!  Which has also been a bit of a theme lately…

8. Forget not doing what I want to when I want to!  The other night I really wanted to take the dog for a walk and then do yoga, but I could not for the life of me get my bloodsugar to a point where I could comfortably (and safely) go for a walk.  So much for my evening plans.  Thanks diabetes.  Along the same lines… 

9. Forget not eating what I want to when I want to!  I’m really doing very well at sticking to my me-appropriate diet, but it doesn’t mean that I don’t crave seriously-wrong-for-me food a lot more often than I should.  I do indulge from time to time, but sometimes I just want to eat what I want when I want to and not worry about the diabetes consequences!  Heh…yeah…consequences…

10.  Forget retinopathy!  My eyes are still leaking from time to time and I’m forgettin’ sick of it!  Sure it’s not debilitating (yet), but it’s pretty damn annoying!  And forget the fact that it’s making family planning so complicated

So, diabetes…forget you, and forget all of your annoyances, complications, and interference in my life! 

*Rant over*

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Malissa on February 18, 2011 at 2:32 pm

    Hey there! Great rant. We all need these once in a while and for those of us who don’t have Diabetes, the “needles” are the most obvious part of the disease that we can relate to not liking. However, for those of us who have friends/family/others in our lives with diabetes, then we have a bit more appreciation for the whole forgettin’ thing. Take care. Day by day. You are a rock star. MG

    Reply

  2. Sigh.
    good rant, and I’m glad you wrote a lot of things that I was thinking.

    FORGET IT!!! awesome

    Reply

  3. Posted by Sylvie on February 22, 2011 at 8:13 pm

    You mean you don’t do this daily??? 😀 I do (in my head) every time diabetes gets in my way–pretty often sometimes! I love your candid discussions about REAL life with real challenges. Stay strong 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

