Eye Yi Yi

Please forgive me if I’m somewhat jibberish-y tonight.  As I’m writing this I’m 2.7 mmol/l (that’s 2.7 x 18 mg/dl for you American folks…I’m too low to do the math), so I’m combining my “sit break” with some blog posting…this may not go well.

Anyway, my left eye (the bad one) is bleeding again – pretty significantly.

DAMN!!!!

It started a few days ago.  I woke up at night and saw squiggles in my upper periphery.  By morning they were still there, and then as the morning went on and gravity did its thing, the squiggles (i.e. blood) floated downward into my vision.

It’s a mess.

It’s not making for large opaque masses that give me blind spots, but it’s lots of streaking – particularly on the side – and a ton of misting, as well as one fairly blurry spot that has settled right where I need to look when I face the computer screen.  Bah.

It’s the most significant bleed I’ve had in a while.  I’d say it’s the most significant one I’ve had since my daughter was born.

It’s not a huge surprise, because I’m told that I have a bad spot of proliferative vessels near the top of that retina.  Still, it’s pretty frustrating.

Plus, the timing is pretty weird given our Big Decision that we have to make…..don’t you think?

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Mario on January 19, 2011 at 8:37 pm

    Noooooooooooo !!!! So disappointing ! I’m not believing what I’m reading. I hope this will go away soon and it is just a little obstacle on your road of another healthy baby.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Sylvie on January 19, 2011 at 9:13 pm

    I am mad at diabetes on your behalf!!!!

    Reply

  3. Aww, very sorry to read this. Keep us posted!

    Reply

  4. Thanks guys…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

