Some Holiday Reading

This Christmas I did some online shopping through Amazon.  It was great!  Ten minutes selecting things online, wait a couple of days, and bam – they show up at my door!  No parking lots, no malls, no lines.  Loved it!

During the “selecting things online” phase, however, I ended up selecting some holiday reading for myself!  (Holidays are pretty much the only time that I can find time to read.)  I can’t tell you what I got for the other folks on my list, in case they read about it here, but I can tell you what I got for myself.  If you have any comments or critiques about any of them, feel free to post them!

1. The Lost Symbol, by Dan Brown – the special illustrated edition.  We have The DaVinci Code and Angels and Demons in the special illustrated versions already, so this one completes the set.  Honestly, though, I have no idea what this one’s even about.  I’m putting my faith in the fact that the other two were great!  Actually, his other two novels – Deception Point and Digital Fortress – are also great!  (To my knowledge, however, these two do not come in special illustrated versions.)  Hopefully this one is great too!

2. An Object of Beauty by Steve Martin.  What can’t this man do?  Acting, stand-up comedy, writing…and some pretty mean banjo playing!  My first encounter with his writing was Shopgirl.  Loved it!  (For the record, I also liked the movie.)  Then a few years ago my husband and I went on a road trip and got The Pleasure of My Company on tape.  Loved it too!  So when I heard that he had a new one out, I had to get it!  I’m really itching to dig into this one!  He has some collections of short stories that I just might have to try one day too.

3. The Happiest Toddler on the Block by Harvey Karp, M.D.  Yep, we’re into the tantrum phase.  Quite solidly into it, in fact.  I’ve heard mixed reviews on this book, but we decided it was worth a try.  We read The Happiest Baby on the Block last year and got some great ideas from it (and some not-so-good ones), so hopefully we’ll have the same success with this one.  Not that we intend to raise our child entirely “by the book” (sorry), but these first-time parents could use some ideas for diffusing tantrums.

4. Sh*t My Dad Says, by Justin Halpern.  I’ve heard some pretty good things about this one, and it’s definitely light reading – easy to pick up and put down – so it seemed like a good one for the holidays!  Hopefully it’s as funny as it’s been made out to be!

Now it’s just a matter of deciding which one to start with….

Leave a Reply

