Five Things

Today seems like a good day for a list of unrelated stuff! 

1. When people talk about the “terrible twos”, I think they’re just giving you a ballpark figure.  My daughter is 18 months old, and we’re right into the “I want that”, “I want it NOW”, “I want it MY way”, and general temper tantrum phase.  It’s a challenge.  And for some reason it seems focused around food.  She either wants to eat when she shouldn’t (i.e. right before dinner) or she doesn’t want to eat when she should (i.e. dinner), or she doesn’t want to eat what we want her to eat.  I’m looking forward to the time when dinner is relaxing again.  Anyway…enough about that.  I still love her to pieces, especially now that she’s learning to say “I love you”…or rather “A la lou”.

2. I keep wanting to post a list of search terms that people are using to find me.  Other bloggers do that and I always find it entertaining, but I’m worried mine won’t be entertaining.  By looking at my stats, I’ve realized that most people seem to find me by doing retinopathy-related searches.  So most of my search terms are a bit sad and/or worrisome.  But I’m really really glad that these people are finding Me With D, and I really really hope my stories about retinopathy are bringing them some comfort.  I also really really hope they’re coming back to visit Me With D again!

3. I’m really missing yoga these days, but really frustrated that I can’t do inverted poses (because of the retinopathy).  So I haven’t been doing it.  But I really need to do it, because of all my aches and pains, and the stress that’s making my blood pressure spike from time to time.  Sooo…..this past week I saw a physiotherapist who is also a yoga instructor, and she’s going to design a yoga program just for me!  Yay!  I’ll tell you more after my follow-up appointment with her this week!

4. I think it’s a little bit too bad that Diabetes Awareness Month is November.  It used to be just fine, but now that Movember is here, I think we’re a bit dwarfed.  Don’t get me wrong – I fully support Movember.  I think Prostate Cancer Awareness is a great cause, and I’m thrilled to see the support for it out there.  I just don’t want to share a month with it.  Maybe nobody would notice if we scootched over to October for next year….?

5. One of these days I’m going to post about diabetes and anxiety.  I’ve promised this topic in the past, and I still haven’t gotten to it.  It’s a bit of a big subject for me, so the thought of posting about it is a bit daunting, but I think it’s important to talk about.  Soon.  I will.  Really.

And there’s my disjointed and unrelated five things. 🙂  Ta da!

5 responses to this post.

  1. Great post 🙂

    I have 3 daughters….and, so far, have to say that THREE is pretty rough! Though I’m in the middle of my last 3 year old and haven’t dealt with TEENdom yet…

    Reply

  2. Posted by Karla Koehn on November 27, 2010 at 8:01 pm

    There is a break. I remember going through the phase of no food during meal times but all food during snack time with Carter. He was the worst and I thought it would never end but it did about the time he his 2 or shortly thereafter. Now he isn’t too bad with eating. He still loves snacking but he also loves raw veggies so I cannot complain. Mackenzie on the other hand is just entering this stage so I’m super excited (this is sarcasm). Also, about moving to October. I don’t think that is such a great idea as I think it is breast cancer awareness month soooo. . . . enough said I think. But I do agree that Movember is taking over.

    Reply

  3. If men grow moustaches for prostate cancer awareness, perhaps us ladies should take up the diabetes cause by growing… hmm… leg hair?

    And now you know why I’m not in charge of awareness campaigns.

    I hope the new yoga program works! I just bought EA Sports Active 2 for my Wii because I’m using the cold outside as an excuse for not exercising, and that’s just no good. It’s a fun workout so far, and it changes, plus it’s got an integrated heart rate monitor that I think is sooo much fun!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

