Lilly Diabetes Journey Award

A while ago I wrote about celebrating diabetes, and today I have another diabetes celebration story!

Recently, this arrived for me in the mail:

Lilly Diabetes Journey Awards 25-Year Insulin Medal

Here’s a closer view:

Close Up

It’s a medal!  A medal for having had insulin-managed diabetes for over 25 years!  (YES!!  I knew it would pay off eventually!)  Pretty cool, eh?  (Yeah, I’m Canadian, eh?)

I learned about the Journey Awards through our local Maestro Project.  I was reading the Autumn 2010 newsletter (this one), and read about the opportunity to apply for them!  So I followed the link, found the application form, filled it out (easy questions – mostly about diagnosis), sent it in…and within a few weeks a courier delivered the medal to my door!

The medal was also accompanied by a letter.  Here’s an excerpt from that letter:

Each person’s journey with Diabetes is unique, and by making that journey so well over so many years, you inspire us.  At Lilly, we hope that our innovations in diabetes treatment – beginning with the first commercial insulin more than 80 years ago, to the many advances in medicines, technology and solutions beyond therapy since – have provided support along that journey, and we consider it an honor to honor you.

Aww….warm fuzzies!

If you’ve had diabetes for over 25 years, or over 50 years…or even over 75 years, and want to apply for a medal, you can check out the program here:  http://www.lillydiabetes.com/pages/journey-awards.aspx 

Maybe it’s kind of silly to get excited about a medal that I applied for (as opposed to getting nominated for) and received as an award for doing something I really didn’t have a choice in (i.e. living with diabetes), but in the midst of all kinds of diabetes frustration and guilt, it puts a smile on my face.  Maybe it’s silly, but it sure is nice . 🙂

9 responses to this post.

  1. I don’t think it’s silly at all! And you did have a choice – you made the choice to live well.

    Congratulations!!

    Reply

  2. Wow congratulations Bethany, you totally deserve it! You are a champion’s champion!!-I’m not even sure what that means but it applies to you.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Mario on November 1, 2010 at 10:21 pm

    Congrats Beth ! Ready for another 25 years ? 😉

    Reply

  4. I agree, I dont think it’s silly at all!
    You deserve to at least smile about it.

    Reply

  5. Posted by sylvie on November 9, 2010 at 2:13 pm

    Not silly at all…in fact I just sent for mine!!! It is being proud of our resilience, our perseverance and our dedication to living life to the fullest! Thanks for the great idea Beth.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

