Gluten-Free Pizza – Delivered!

Since I’ve been eating low(ish) carb and (mostly) gluten-free, one of the things I have missed most has been pizza.  I love pizza.  Love it!  But it really is a difficult meal from a diabetes standpoint, and then if you add in the gluten-free factor, you’re pretty much out of luck.

I actually tried making my own at home recently, after finding gluten-free pizza crusts in the freezer section of my local grocery store, but they were really thick crusts, and one “personal sized” pizza was about 70g of carbs, so I could only eat half.  It just wasn’t the same.  I need to find gluten-free pitas (the skinny kind) and make GF pita pizzas!  But I digress…

Recently, a local pizza joint (a home-grown franchise that has locations in Manitoba and Alberta) has been advertising gluten-free pizza crusts.  I was skeptical, but finally last night we decided to get delivery and give one a try.

You know what?  It was awesome!  It tasted almost like a regular pizza crust (just a bit “nuttier”) and was a really nice thin crust, so low enough carbs that it didn’t cause a bloodsugar mess!  I actually over-estimated the carbs, took too much insulin and ended up low after a couple of hours (even with an extended bolus), but I didn’t even get a nasty spike later from it.  It was greasy, as most delivery pizza is, but not as greasy as many I’ve had in the past!  My husband even commented on that fact!  (He got the regular crust so I could save the rest of my gluten-free one.)

Anyway, here’s a picture of my new favourite gluten-free and not-even-too-diabetes-unfriendly pizza!

I like pizza!

If you live in Winnipeg, Brandon, Steinbach, Winkler, or Calgary and want to give it a try, you can check them out at www.pizzahotline.ca.   In Winnipeg, they’re the 222-2222 number (yeah, I hate their ads too), but you can also order online!  (Nope, they’re not giving me free pizza for saying this…but if they wanted to, I wouldn’t decline it!) 

Yum!

7 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Danielle on October 23, 2010 at 4:57 pm

    Thanks for the tip. My uncle just got diagnosed with celiac a few months ago and is learning to navigate a g-f diet. I’ll for sure let him know about this!!!

    Reply

    • Hey Danielle, you can tell him that Sobeys and Superstore also stock a reasonable amount of GF foods…especially Superstore. Vita Health has a GF section too, but I haven’t found them to have any better selection than Superstore, actually. Sobey’s has a nice GF pasta that’s all cornmeal and corn flour and tastes almost like regular pasta. If I could remember the brand I’d tell you…sorry.

      Reply

  2. Wow! Only wish I had gluten-free pizza delivery service where I lived! I am so jealous! I just made my own last night. It’s a lot of work, but I enjoy creating and sharing my GF recipes with everyone. In case you didn’t know, there are many gluten-free pizzas available online. A matter of fact in the next week or two I will be writing a review on Udi’s Gluten Free Foods products (they have a GF pizza crust) and doing a big giveaway of their products. Stop by soon!

    Reply

  3. That pizza looks yummy! It sorta looks like the crust they use for PizzaPizza gluten free in Ontario. As well, I would bet it’s a company called PaneRiso. We’ve bought that crust in Sobeys before. Although there’s nothing like ordering pizza by delivery just like everyone else!

    Reply

    • Apparently the pizza company orders the pizza crusts (as opposed to making them in-house) so they very well may be from PaneRiso! (This also means they’re only available in one size.)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

