Applesauce

As I’ve mentioned previously, we have an abundance of apples this year.  So I took it upon myself to freeze some, and also to make some applesauce with them.  I didn’t go so far as to do any canning, but I just made a few small batches of applesauce for immediate consumption.

I tend to prefer unsweetened applesauce – just like Grandma used to make it – which is definitely in keeping with my low(ish) carb way of eating.  I also prefer it chunky, not completely mushy.  More like apple pie filling.  Mmmm…..

In case any of you also have an abundance of apples (or even if you don’t) and would like to try the unsweetened applesauce experience, here’s how I did it….

I peeled and cored and cut about 9 medium-sized apples and threw them (yes threw them) into a pot.  I added enough water to cover about half of the apples (the bottom half – har har), but you really wouldn’t need that much.  Then I cooked them at a medium-high temperature until they were soft but not mushy.  If you like your applesauce mushy and/or puréed, you could cook them for longer.  When they were done, I drained them completely.  Again, if you like the mushy, saucy applesauce, you might want to retain some of the water.  Last, I added a teaspoon of cinnamon and stirred it up before letting it cool.  (For mushy, either mash or purée them.) 

That’s all!  And it’s so good!  If you’re okay with increasing the carbs a bit, you can warm it up and add a little bit of ice cream (even no-sugar-added ice cream) for a treat!

Because the carbs depends on the size of the apples and how many you use, I can’t tell you exactly how many carbs will be in it when you make it, but I can tell you that for 15g of net carbs, I can eat just over 100g of applesauce (or a bit more than 1/2 a cup).

Just to tempt you, I’m leaving you with a picture:

Homemade Unsweetened Applesauce

5 responses to this post.

  1. YUM! That looks delicious!!

    Reply

  2. I am in the process of making this RIGHT NOW. Just thought you should know.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Sylvie on October 3, 2010 at 8:31 pm

    I have finally tried this and I absolutely love it. Plus, so does my daughter and hubby. YAY!!! Thanks

    Reply

Leave a Reply

