Diabetes Meme

It feels like a meme day, so I’m happy that there’s one going around!  This one’s from Kerri and it’s all about the D!

What type of diabetes do you have:  Type 1 

When were you diagnosed:  December 30, 1981.  Wow…I’m coming up on 30 years here.  Crazy!

What’s your current blood sugar:  I don’t know.  I’ve been low all morning.  My most recent test was about 4.5 mmol/l (81 mg/dl), but shortly after that I started getting the “whoa, I’m dropping fast” feeling, and my eyes started going blotchy, so I was clearly heading downward quite quickly.  Don’t worry, I’m okay now. 🙂

What kind of meter do you use:  I used to use the OneTouch UltraSmart, but I’ve recently switched to the Contour USB meter and I’m loving it!

How many times a day do you test your blood sugar:  It probably averages out to about 10 times a day.  Maybe 11.  A lot, anyway.

What’s a “high” number for you:  Well, it depends on the time of day, but I tend to get the bolus-itch around 8.0 mmol/l (144 mg/dl).  I’m uncomfortable with readings over 10.0 mmol/l (180 mg/dl), and I typically start to feel “icky” around 13.0 mmol/l (234 mg/dl)…or a bit lower if my bloodsugars have been really good and then suddenly go high.

What’s do you consider “low”:  Anything under 4.0 mmol/l (72 mg/dl). 

What’s your favorite low blood sugar reaction treater:  I generally use Dextro-Energy tabs (used to be called Dextrosol), but I sometimes use juice.  My favourite, though, would be Twizzlers!

Describe your dream endo:  Open-minded and empathetic, but enough of a hard-ass to remind me when I need to tighten things up.  Oh, also, super-informed on the pump front.

What’s your biggest diabetes achievement:  Getting through a challenging pregnancy to end up with my sweet little girl!

What’s your biggest diabetes-related fear:  Blindness.  It’s not that this is the complication that scares me the most overall, it’s just that this one currently presents the most real threat to me.  It scares the hell out of me, frankly.

Who’s on your support team:  Mainly my husband and CDE (and good friend!) Michelle, but also a great team of health professionals (my endo, my ophtho, my CDE (as mentioned), my dietician, my counsellor and my pharmacist, to name a few) as well as my friends and family.  It’s a big team 🙂

Do you think there will be a cure in your lifetime:  I really hope so, but I’m not holding my breath.  Honestly, I try not to think about it too much.  When something shows up on the research front that looks like a “definite” and has an ETA of within a couple of years, then I’ll get excited.

What is a “cure” to you:  A drug or procedures that lets my body, on its own, operate as though I don’t have diabetes.

The most annoying thing people say to you about your diabetes is:  (1) You must have it pretty bad. (2) My grandma/grandpa has diabetes too! (Not that this is a bad thing to say, but I get tired of hearing it.) (3) Are you allowed to eat that?!

What is the most common misconception about diabetes:  That Type 1 and Type 2 are the same. 

If you could say one thing to your pancreas, what would it be:  Nothing that I’m willing to repeat here!

Leave a Reply

