Dreaming of Dexcom

I am now officially fed up with the Medtronic CGMS.  It used to work so well for me, but something is no longer working and I’m pretty much done trying.

Instead of listening to me repeat my experiences in my rollercoaster of a relationship with the Medtronic CGMS here, you can read all about it in these posts:

I want it to work.  I really do.  I’m trying!

I feel like I’ve been doing everything right – from the angle of insertion, to the timing and frequency of calibration, to my levels of hydration.  But I’m tired of paying $50-a-pop (out-of-pocket) for as few as one good sensor in four…or five…or six.  I’m not made of money!

The thing is, the CGMS technology is so beneficial for me when it works.  I really want it to work!  But I’m running out of options for my current CGMS.  My CDE has suggested trying it in my thigh instead of my abdomen in case scar tissue is an issue (particularly after my pregnancy and c-section).  I’ll probably give it a go before I give up entirely, but the truth of the matter is that I don’t want the lump of the transmitter showing through my pants.  It will be noticeable with pretty much all of my dress pants for work, and even some of my jeans – not to mention shorts!  Wearing my pump visibly clipped to the waistband of my pants is enough of a fashion compromise for me – I’m not interested in taking it this step further, however shallow that may be.  So even if it does work on my thigh, I’m not convinced that’s the answer for me.  (And this also pretty much rules out any other alternate site you can throw at me.)

I’ve heard so many good things about the Dexcom CGMS.  Maybe it’s just a matter of personal preference, but over and over I’m hearing about folks having more success with Dexcom than Medtronic so I’m starting to think that there may be something to it….and I’m starting to dream of Dexcom. 

But, if scar tissues is the problem, then the Dexcom isn’t likely to work on my abdomen either and making the switch could be all for naught.  Ideally, I’d really like the chance to trial it for a while, but I’m not sure if there’s any way to go about doing that.

Anyway, I’m really frustrated with this and am looking for any words of wisdom that you folks might have.  I’m really quite comfortable that I’m calibrating appropriately, but if you have any suggestions re: hideable alternate sites or magical insertion techniques, or if you can tell me how Dexcom works for you, I’m all ears!

All that said, I’m pretty sure (and correct me if I’m wrong – please!) that the Dexcom CGMS isn’t even available in Canada, so this may be a moot point anyway.  I’ll save my frustrations about diabetes technologies that are currently unavailable to Canadians for a separate post….

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Sylvie on August 15, 2010 at 10:35 am

    I get the frustrations with the CGM. It would not hurt so bad if the sensors cost a lot less and one did not see $$$ every time a sensor was not quite right. Having said that, I have been pretty lucky so far, only having a few dudds. I did switch to my thigh and it seemed to be a little more precise there. I have also read a lot of posts where people talk about soaking the sense for 6-8 hours before starting the transmitter, and inserting the sensor in the fattiest part or your body (not hard for me LOL). That’s the extent of my tidbits…. I must say I have also seen a lot of posts praising the dex over medtronic’s version. I had looked into the dex, and they had informed me that they would be in Canada by June this year. To my knowledge, that is not the case yet. Who knows!!!!

    Reply

    • I hadn’t realized they were talking about coming to Canada so soon. When I contacted them (last week) they didn’t say anything about future plans for Canada – just that they weren’t available here and that even if I bought elsewhere, I wouldn’t have service here. Bah!

      Reply

  2. Posted by Amanda on August 21, 2010 at 10:07 pm

    Have you tried wearing your pump anywhere besides your waist band? When I was deciding whether or not I wanted an insulin pump, my biggest issue was “I’m not wearing that thing on my waist as a conversation piece”. Well, one day, I was on the topic and a good Type 1 friend of mine said she wore hers in her bra. When I found this out, I called Medtronic right away and ordered a pump for myself. To this day, I wear it in between ‘the girls’ with no pump clip or anything, just under my bra. I have lots of friends who still have no idea I am on a pump… and when I want it to be in the conversation, it’s my choice 🙂
    Great blog Bethany!

    Reply

    • Hi Amanda! I’ve tried the “between the girls” option before, but have never found it to work well. I don’t know if it has to do with the type of shirts I wear or if “the girls” are just not ample enough, but the pump is usually somewhat at least visible if I wear it there. I’ve also found it to be inconvenient when I’m wearing a CGMS and the alarm goes off. Then I have to go digging around in my bra in public. 😛 I know it really works well for some, but I’m much happier with it on my waistband. 🙂 Thanks for the comments!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

