Four Things

1.  The other day I realized I was using expired insulin.  It had only expired by a month, so I wasn’t too troubled by it, but still…not ideal.  My understanding is that the effectiveness of most meds decreases the further from the expiry date you get.  So, in theory, my insulin shouldn’t have been as effective.  And you know what?  I think maybe it wasn’t.  It’s hard to say because, honestly, diabetes hasn’t been first and foremost on my mind during The Plague of 2010, but when I think about it, it really did seem that my bloodsugars were unexplainably high sometimes.  Maybe it was just the stress…  Regardless, I am now using unexpired insulin just to be sure.

2. On Friday of last week I was interviewed (and filmed) for a TV documentary!  Oooooh!  Exciting!  I’m not going to tell you too much now because I have visions of bragging about it and then having my piece left on the cutting room floor, making me feel sheepish and silly for claiming to be a soon-to-be TV star.  I will, however, tell you that it’s diabetes-related.  The entire documentary isn’t about diabetes, but the part I’m in is about the Maestro Project here in Winnipeg.  Next week they want to come to my house and do some filming of me with my daughter as well as of me blogging!  🙂  (At this point Bethany looks around at the completely chaotic computer desk and has a mini panic attack at the thought of cleaning it up in time.)  Anyway, I’ll definitely keep you posted on this one!

3. My music crisis has been solved (for the time being, anyway) by Florence + The Machine.  I already linked to her here, but check out another good song here.  She is currently filling the music hole in the music part of my heart.  Bless you Florence!

4. My daughter has been sick a lot lately.  It’s the whole just-started-daycare phenomenon when a kid comes home with every virus known to man in the first few months of daycare.  It’s all been your normal run-of-the mill colds and flus, but it’s been one after another.  It’s been really hard to see her in that sick state, and really hard to take her to the doctor when she makes it so very clear how much she hates stethoscopes, tongue depressors, and those gosh-darn pokey flashlights they stick in your ears.  It’s really made me think of all those parents – mine included – who have had to deal with so very much more when their children are diagnosed with diabetes: the endless doctors appointments, the trauma for both the parents and child of having to make needles a daily routine, the helpless feeling of seeing your child feeling miserable and not being able to do anything about it…the realization that this is only the beginning….  Today my hat is off to you parents of diabetic children (or of diabetic children-who-are-now-adults) – including my own – for everything you do and everything you have done.  You are truly remarkable people!

One response to this post.

  1. I love Florence and the Machine. Fantastic.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

