D-Feast Friday…Sort of

Not long ago I read about another fun blogging idea in the Diabetes Online Community called D-Feast Friday.  It was conceived by Elizabeth, Lorraine and Karen, and the idea is for bloggers in the DOC to post diabetes-friendly recipes on Friday, July 23rd.  I think it’s a great idea and I fully intended to participate.  But, thanks to the nasty plague that’s been…uh…”plaguing” my home, all of my best intentions are flying out the window these days.  

So instead of posting a recipe on Friday the 23rd, I’m sort of posting a recipe on sort of Friday the 23rd.  By that I mean I’m posting some links to a few of my favourite recipes, instead of posting my own recipes, and I’m doing it on the Sunday the 25th instead of Friday the 23rd.  I hope there’s another D-Feast Friday sometime because I will happily make it up to Elizabeth, Lorraine, and Karen – and you blog-reading folks – and fully participate (with photos) next time!

My favourite diabetes-friendly recipes come from the wonderful Chef Barrae.  You may remember that I posted about her Applesauce Muffins a few months ago here.  Along the lines of baking, I also highly recommend her Almond All-Butter Pound Cake and her Lucious Lemon-Poppy Mini-Muffins

If you’re more interested in a dinner recipe than baking, her Chicken Stuffed with Brie, Apples and Walnuts with Balsamic Drizzle is fantastic! 

Of course, if you’d just like a chilly summer treat, there’s always Kerri’s carb-free, gluten-free recipe. 🙂

For more great diabetes-friendly recipes, check out the collection from this D-Feast Friday here!

Next time I’ll be more creative…I promise!

2 responses to this post.

  1. At risk of sounding like a crazy stalker… I found your blog today through the ‘Diabetes + Pregnancy’ story (I follow Kerri from Six Until Me on Twitter). I don’t have diabetes, but I do live with chronic illness – and my daughter is around six months older than yours. I think that what you’re doing here is awesome and all of us with health challenges + babies have so much to learn from each other. It’s always fun to find another great blog to read. Feel free to check out mine @ runlindsayrun.blogspot.com (I’m from Winnipeg too!).

    Reply

Leave a Reply

