CGMS Success!

As you know, I’ve been having some trouble with the ole CGMS lately.  (If you didn’t know that, you can read about it here and here and here and here and here and here.)  So, the other day when I started a new sensor, I didn’t have very high hopes for huge successes.  To make matters worse, the day I started it was the day my pump developed ghouliesPlus, it was the day after I had a bout of stomach flu that left me pretty dehydrated (and hydration is a huge factor in sensor accuracy for me). 

As I kind of expected, it didn’t work very well at first.  By bedtime on the first day it wasn’t very accurate at all, so I decided to shut it off instead of dealing with the unnecessary alarms going off all night.  The next morning I restarted it and….whaddaya know….it’s been ridiculously accurate ever since!  Wow!  I mean bang-on!  There have been a few blips here and there, but mainly when my bloodsugar was changing quickly, so that’s to be expected.  I’m impressed!

As luck would have it, the night after the restart, I bottomed out hard during the night.  But my CGMS knew it and set out to wake me….and continued to wake me over and over all night because my bloodsugar was refusing to come back up even after dousing it with carbs.  (This sometimes happens to me after a stomach flu.  Ugh.)  It was a rough night with the CGMS alarms going all night, but it would have been significantly rougher had they not been going off!  I was so glad to have a functioning CGMS in place that night!  Two thumbs up for that sensor!

The next night I dropped again, but happened to catch it with a random wake-up before it dropped into the CGMS alarm range.  Expecting the same crash as the night before, I loaded up on carbs (not quite nypo-style, but almost).  I went back to sleep, and within the hour the CGMS alarm was going off again.  This time it was the high alarm.  Apparently the carb-loading had been unneccessary.  Granted, this time it let me get up to about 17 mmol/l (300 mg/dl) before letting me know, but with the serious noshing I had just done, it’s completely reasonable that the rise was just too fast for it to keep up with.  The CGMS has been forgiven for this.

Anyway, this was the last of a box of ten sensors.  Because of my skepticism, my next box is only a box of four.  I’m curious to see whether this next box does better accuracy-wise and whether a lot of my problems of late have been due to a semi-bad batch….  I guess we’ll see.  I have to admit, though, that my faith in the CGMS is slowly being restored!

Leave a Reply

