A Slippery Slope

Overall, I’ve been pretty pleased with my ability to stick to my low(ish) carb diet in spite of being a self-professed carb-lover.  Until recently, that is.

I don’t know if it’s the fact that it’s summer or the fact that I’m back at work now or the fact that I’ve been eating like this for 6 months (the 6-month itch?) or what, but I’m finding it really hard to avoid carbs lately.  It’s not like I’m eating platefuls of pasta or loaves of bread…it’s just little stuff – a bite of a cookie here, a couple of crackers there, finishing my daughter’s toast for her when she only eats 3/4 of it….

But it’s a slippery slope.  I know myself and I know how I operate.

I know that I can have cheat days or cheat meals and then go right back to my low(ish) carb eating.  But the problem lies in the frequency of the cheats.  I can do a few big cheats and still be okay, but when I do a bunch of small cheats, they end up turning into a bunch of medium-sized cheats, and finally they’re a bunch of big cheats and suddenly I’m no longer restricting my carb intake at all!

It doesn’t help that I’ve been low a lot lately as I adjust to my new work routine.  Hypos are a great “opportunity” to eat the stuff I don’t usually get to eat, but then it’s really just an extra push down that slippery slope.  It doesn’t help.

The thing is, I feel so much better when I’m sticking to my diet.  Mentally, because I’m proud of myself for sticking with it, and physically because my bloodsugar doesn’t have as many spikes…but also just overall.  My body feels better – more energized, less “bloaty”, etc. – when I stick to my diet…especially when I stay away from grains.

Plus, now that I bought a bunch of new clothes to fit my new low(ish) carb body, I need to maintain this weight so that I can keep wearing them!!

Anyway, I don’t think I’m at a huge risk of giving up this way of eating yet.  It’s still just small cheats.

But it’s a slippery slope….

Leave a Reply

