The End of Mat Leave

Today was my first day back at work after mat leave! 

(Well, if we’re going to get technical, I was actually off “mat leave” in May and have been using “vacation days” since then…but we’re not going to get technical.)

I was supposed to be back yesterday already, but the little one was sick, so my return was delayed by a day.  So, I am now officially a “working mom”.  Crazy!

It felt kind of good to be back out in the world, to be honest.  It was nice to talk to grown-ups, to dress with “what looks nice” in mind instead of “what can withstand the most drool” and to have the freedom to move around without a clingy-but-cute toddler attached to my legs.

Leaving her at daycare for the full day was, of course, difficult, but she did great!  We really like our daycare lady, and it appears that the kid does too. Whew!  She cried when we dropped her off, but apparently she proceeded to have lots of fun!

Also, on the diabetic front, my bloodsugars kicked ass today!  YEAH!  I had a small incident with dawn-phenomenon-meets-stress this morning that took me up to a 10.o mmol/l (180 mg/dl) between the alarm clock and breakfast, but otherwise I was sitting pretty all day!  It felt great!

So, now we adjust to our new schedules, our busier evenings as we prep for the following day, and our shortened amount of time with our daughter who will be going to bed earlier now that we get her up earlier.  It’s a new life, and it definitely looks different from the old one, but I’m sure it’ll soon feel normal.

Anyway, as we make these adjustments, I’m really going to try to keep posting 2-3 times per week like I have been while on mat leave, but please forgive me if sometimes my posts are a bit fewer and further between for a while.  Bear with me, and I’ll do my best to get back on track ASAP!

Leave a Reply

