Trying the CGMS Again…Part III

So yesterday was my third day on this sensor, and as a result, it quit.  Typically I aim for more than three days on one sensor, so I always restart it on day 3 and keep on trucking.

This sensor has been working remarkably well.  I’ve actually been really pleased and was even starting to regret some of the mean things I said about my CGMS a while back.

But….

Ever since I restarted it yesterday, I’ve been getting nothing but crap from it.

It says I’m low.  I test and I’m 8.0 mmol/l (144 mg/dl).

It says my bloodsugar is all kinds of good.  I test and I’m 15.6 mmol/l (281 mg/dl).  Hellooo…..??  This is where I could have used some sensor help!! 

Maybe it’s the hydration thing again.  I’m still working on that, but I thought I was reasonably well hydrated.

Maybe I’m calibrating at bad times, but I didn’t think I was.

Maybe it’s just because it’s more than 3 days old, but I don’t know why it would go from super accurate to craptastic in such a short time span.  (It was almost literally right after the restart.)

Hmmm…..

To be continued….

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by tterrell on June 4, 2010 at 9:52 pm

    Hi. I’m on the Medtronic 553 pump and CGMS now too.

    Is this a calibration thingy? I mean … when I calibrate and there are no UP or DOWN arrows on my graph, then my CGMS seems much more accurate than when I do a BG reading w/Calibrate.

    BTW: I went swimming today in the pool with my 5 yr. old girl and left the transmitter + sensor in place the entire time (40 minutes underwater) and….. it still works great! I just needed to ‘FIND Lost Sensor’ after getting back with my pump, waited about 15 minutes and everything was back on track.

    Thanks for sharing all your life w/D … with us.

    – T. Terrell

    Reply

  2. Posted by Sylvie on June 4, 2010 at 10:53 pm

    Maybe you are already doing this, but I find my day 4-6 much better when I restart my sensor in the following manner: Before the sensor quits I enter a good calibration (I will do this even hours before the end of a sensor if it is a good stable number). Imediately after I enter the calibration number, I go to the sensor menu and start a “new sensor”. In a few minutes it starts the new sensor using the calibration I just entered, so that I don’t even have to think about calibrating a new start at the right time… I use this on day 6 as well, but my transmitter usually dies by day 7 and I have to charge and start anew. That is usually when things go crazy for me…. Hope this makes sense! But it works great for me!

    Reply

  3. Thanks for the comments!

    It definitely could be a calibration thing. I thought I made sure to calibrate when my bloodsugar was pretty stable, but maybe it wasn’t as stable as I thought.

    Thanks for the suggestion Sylvie! I’ll have to try that!

    Reply

  4. I start using mine on Thursday so am really enjoying reading about this to get “tips”…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

