Trying the CGMS Again…Part II

My CGMS and I have been back together for 2 days now.

It’s actually going pretty well.  That said, I haven’t truly tested it with any serious highs or lows desperately requiring an alarm, but still…

It’s nice to be able to look down at my pump and see what my bloodsugar is and what direction it’s trending.  I”ve missed that.  Truth be told, I’m kind of liking being back together.

My only complaint is that it’s sometimes not quite keeping up with rises and falls, even of the smaller, non-desperate variety.  Yesterday afternoon the CGMS said I was around 7 mmol/l  (about 125 mg/dl) for a few hours, even though I actually dipped down into the mid 5s (around 100 mg/dl) and rose up into the higher 8s (around 150 mg/dl)..but that’s not too far off, and it’s usually been closer than that.

I know that a big factor in sensor accuracy (at least for me) is hydration – or lack thereof – and I know that I haven’t been drinking nearly enough fluids in the last few days, so I’m going to work on that and see where it gets me…

To be continued…

Leave a Reply

