One Year of Motherhood

Last Sunday, May 23rd, was my daughter’s first birthday. 

I can’t believe a year has passed already!  It has definitely been one of the most challenging years of my life, but also the most awe-inspiring.  I’ve learned so much! 

For example, I’ve learned that…

  • breastfeeding isn’t always as easy as we’re led to believe.
  • you should always have a baby’s bum covered when she sneezes.
  • eyesight isn’t something to take for granted.
  • if you swell up a lot during pregnancy, you’re going to pee a lot afterwards.  A LOT.
  • I am the best judge of what is best for my child…even when four different books have four different opinions and they’re all different from mine.
  • sometimes when a baby’s upset, she’s not tired or hungry or wet – she’s just upset.  Sometimes there’s nothing you can do about it.
  • low bloodsugar is both scary and inconvenient when alone with a baby.
  • packing for one child for one weekend is like packing for four adults for four weekends.  On a related note, travelling long distances with a child on a semi-regular basis pretty much requires a minivan or SUV.
  • it is possible to feel like both a failure and a superstar within the course of an hour.
  • patience is a virtue.  One that I do not possess nearly enough of…
  • when they say to make time for yourself, and also for your spouse, they mean it.  (Whoever “they” are.)
  • nothing is a given.
  • great parents make for great grandparents.
  • breastfeeding wreaks havoc on bloodsugar.
  • there is no better sound in the world than a baby’s laughter.
  • an insulin pump looks like a fun toy to a baby.
  • I can’t read Guess How Much I Love You without tearing up.
  • I envy new parents who live closer to their families than we do.
  • elderly ladies really like babies.
  • I am capable of more than I give myself credit for.

I have also learned…

  • all the words to Goodnight Moon as well as The Going to Bed Book.
  • how to do a wide variety of tasks with one free hand and a baby on one hip.
  • the fine art of being flexible.
  • to lean on family and close friends when times are tough.

But mostly, I’ve learned the sheer magnitude of the love of a mother for her child.  There is truly nothing else like it.     

Happy Birthday Baby!  Mommy loves you…right up to the moon and back!

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Sylvie on May 29, 2010 at 10:02 am

    Well written Bethany!! You do well in capturing the essence of motherhood. My “baby” is turning twelve in two weeks, but I still remember “right up to the moon and back’…..my favorite book ever!!

    Reply

  2. Posted by julia p. on May 29, 2010 at 6:55 pm

    Great list! It made me tear up a little bit – I’ve been learning a lot of the same things these last 3 months. Speaking of tearing up, I haven’t read Guess How Much I Love You to him yet, but the first time I read Love You Forever with Thalo sitting on my lap, I couldn’t get halfway through it without tears flowing down my cheeks, even though I’ve read it tons before. Oh, the love of a mother for her child…

    Reply

  3. Thanks for the comments, ladies!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

