Dear CGMS

Dear CGMS,

I’m starting to miss you.

For a long time all I could think about were the bad times: the bad sensors, the painful insertions, you waking me up multiple times during the night to tell me that my bloodsugar was too high or too low when really it wasn’t….  Taking you back just wasn’t an option I was willing to consider.

But now I’m starting to remember the good times.  I’m starting to miss you.

I missed you this morning when I tested before lunch and my bloodsugar was 11.1 mmol/l (200 mg/dl) even though my post-breakfast reading had been great.  You would have warned me I was going up.

I missed you last night when I woke up in a cold sweat and tested to find I was 2.8 mmol/l (50 mg/dl).  You would have gently woken me with a buzz before I dropped that low.

I missed you the other day when I forgot to bolus with my meal again, and my bloodsugar shot up and I was too busy to notice.  You wouldn’t have let that happen.

I’m starting to miss you.  When things are good between us, they’re so good.

But I’m not sure I’m ready to try again…to face the possibility of falling back into the same cycle of bad sensors and false alarms. 

I’ve had some folks tell me that I should try a new CGMS.  I’ll be honest, I’ve been tempted after the troubles we’ve had.  But I’ve grown so comfortable with you that it just doesn’t feel right to drop you without first giving you another chance. 

I’m not ready yet, but this is just a heads-up. 

I’m starting to miss you.

Sincerely,

Bethany

One response to this post.

  1. Hello! My name is Brenda, and I am new to your blog.

    I clicked that link on this post, and I’m having the same issues with my CGM!! I’m on the verge of throwing it out the window!!! I have also seriously considered trying a new CGM, but I can’t return my MiniLink, so I’m not sure if I should go through with it.

    Anyway, its nice to know I’m not the only one having issues!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

