Applesauce Muffins

My low(ish) carb diet doesn’t usually include a lot of baking.  Don’t get me wrong, I love baking – in both noun and verb form.  It’s just that I’ve been trying to eat mostly natural foods, and that generally involves avoiding artificial sweeteners. 

But I do make exceptions.  Especially when it comes to the low-carb baking receipes of Chef Barrae!  From time to time I crave something sweet that’s still within my low(ish) carb goals, and lately I’ve been going to the Chef’s recipes to satisfy that craving! 

Today I made her delicious Applesauce Muffins!  She’s got more professional pictures on her blog, but here’s what they looked like when I made them:

Yummy Applesauce Muffins

I was really impressed with the recipe!  They were really easy to make and they taste SO good!  Plus, they’re only a little more than 4 grams of net carbs per muffin.  (Granted, they’re mini-muffins, but still.)  I didn’t even think they tasted “low-carb”, but then again I’m not as sensitive to the taste of Splenda as some folks are.

Admittedly, Me With D is not a recipe-blog, but I had to share this one…and I’ll probably share more in the future!

Now, just in case you missed the link the first time, click here for the recipe!  Try ’em!

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by aaron menchions on April 22, 2010 at 2:06 pm

    Send some to Ottawa!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Sylvie on April 22, 2010 at 7:43 pm

    mmmm…..I want to try these. Where do you get your almond and coconut flour? Thanks Sylvie

    Reply

    • I get them at Scoop ‘n’ Weigh – near the corner of Kenaston and Taylor. The almond flour comes in bulk but the coconut flour only comes in little bags. You can use those same two flours to make the Chef’s lemon poppyseed muffins and her almond pound cake too. Both are very good!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

