Three Unrelated Things

1. Tomorrow I see my endo.  As a result, I’ve been logging again.

D-Logging isn’t exactly the most enjoyable way to spend my time – in fact it’s tedious as hell.  I’m not very good at doing it as I go, so I end up sitting at my computer once every day or so (I have some pretty kick-ass spreadsheets for it…nerd alert!) and trying to remember D-related details (D-tails? Ha!).  Thankfully my meter and my pump have memories that are more accurate than my own, but I still have to remember what I ate and how many carbs were involved and when my activity levels were high enough to warrant noting (Baby and I have been going for a lot of walks lately). 

So, like I said, tedious.

Still, I have to admit that I’m seeing the benefits.  After a week or two of D-Logging I find that I’m pretty easily able to identify trends and areas that need correcting – stuff that I didn’t really notice when this stuff was all in my mind instead of on paper (or on computer screen).  A few tweaks here and a bit of tooling around there and I’m seeing improvements!  I guess the logging just forces me to focus on what the recurring problems are instead of just seeing highs and lows as isolated incidents. 

So, I guess it’s a good thing in spite of the tedium. 

2. My list of tasty carb-subtitutes is decreasing by one.

I’ve recently discovered that I don’t actually like celery root (aka “celeriac”).  Looks like mashed potatoes – tastes like celery. 

I like mashed potatoes.

I like celery. 

I had myself fairly convinced that I liked celery root…but it was an internal lie.  I don’t.  I dislike foods that trick me into thinking they will taste like something other than they do. 

It seems like that is at the heart of my problem with celery root.  I can’t get over the “mushy celery” experience.  I think I’m done with it.

So, I’m not sure what I’m going to use as my “carb-substitute-substitute” now.  It was one of my staples, as you may recall.  I’m thinking I might just go back to mashed/boiled potatoes.  Potatoes fill me up enough that I can just eat a little bit (say, 15g of carbs worth), and then fill up the rest of the way on meat and veggies.  I do kinda miss potatoes.  Unfortunately I think I’ll still have to avoid the carb-laden baked potato, though. 

Mmm…baked potato…..

3. I walked a path of strange memories yesterday.

Yesterday my mother-in-law had an appointment at the hospital – the same hospital that my daughter was born in, and the same hospital that she stayed in for the first 3 weeks of her life.  While my MIL had her appointment, my daughter and I went for a long walk.  The weather was downright miserable, so we stayed inside the hospital and the tunnels that connect its various buildings. 

It was very strange for me because the last time I walked those halls and tunnels was when my husband and I were killing time while our daughter napped in her little hospital bassinet.

Last time I was there my feet were just finally returning to their normal size after pre-eclampsia, and my abdomen was still uncomfortable from my c-section. 

Last time I was there I was dreaming of the day I could bring my baby home – when she would no longer be attached to all the monitors, and when we no longer had to worry about her forgetting to breathe while she ate.  It was a hard time and a sad time – every day going home without her.  

So yesterday I made it my purpose to re-walk these halls with my beautiful (perfect) little girl and cover those old memories with new ones of a happy healthy girl. 

After my MIL’s appointment was over I packed up my Babe in the car, and took her home with me, just like I couldn’t those 10 months ago.

And when we got home, I held her a little extra close…because I could.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Karen on April 16, 2010 at 10:27 pm

    #3 Made me cry. I remember praying for you every day until you brought her home. She is so perfect and beautiful. I’m really glad that you got the opportunity to make those new memories.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

