The Case of the Missing Meal Bolus

I hope this blog post is coherent.  I say that because I’m writing it while I’m 18.3 mmol/l (330 mg/dl).  My mouth is pasty, my legs are achy, and my head is throbbing.  I’m rarely this high, so it feels pretty gross.

Why so high?  Because I forgot to bolus with supper.  Supper was 3 hours ago.  Why it took me so long to realize my omission I have no idea.  I had the wicked thirst, achy legs and headache for a while before I clued in.  But I was running around getting stuff done and never once thought to stop and check my bloodsugar. 

Ugh!

Thankfully I’m eating relatively low-carb these days.  After 30g of carbs for supper, I’m 18.3.  In the old high-carb days, after 60g or more I would have been upwards of 25 mmol/l (450 mg/dl) by the 3-hour point. 

The frustrating thing about this is that it’s not the first time I’ve done it in the last week.  It’s not even the second.  It’s the fourth!!!  The other three were at lunch, and I do have a good excuse for one of them – I was low, so I wanted to delay my bolus a bit – but still.  Four times in one week?!  What is wrong with me?!

Of course, the CGMS could have really helped in this situation – giving me my friendly, “Excuse me, you’re too high” warning – but I’m still holding a grudge against my CGMS, so I have not had a sensor in for a while. 

So now I’m typing, bleary-eyed and foggy-brained, about my mental lapses and thinking maybe it’s time to look into upgrading to the Minimed Paradigm Revel pump with it’s Missed Meal Bolus Reminder.  I’m guessing they made that one with me in mind.  (They’re not paying me to say that.)

In the meantime, I need to figure out a way to get my head on straight and remember these meal boluses!  This is not something I want to become a habit!

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Sylvie on April 9, 2010 at 9:06 am

    Hey…that so easily happens. When I was doing MDI, I frequently couldn’t tell if I had forgotten to inject or if the diabetic gods were playing with me again. Glad you caught that high and were able to do something about it!

    Reply

    • Oh I know, Sylvie! At least with the pump you can tell that you missed it and it’s not a guessing game! That was always terrible on MDI!

      Reply

  2. Oh man – sorry to hear that. Happens to all of us I think. Too bad the price we pay is so yucky feeling.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

