The Waiting Game – Part 2

If you’re a relative newcomer to MeWithD, you may not have read Part 1 of The Waiting Game, as I wrote it quite a while ago.  If you missed it, you can find it here.  If you’re too pressed for time, I’ll summarize:  With retinopathy, I feel like I’m in a perpetual state of waiting for my eyes to get better or worse.

Well at my last Ophtho appointment a few weeks ago, a new layer was added to this game.

I’ve always known that my previous retinal hemorrhages have left a mess in my eye.  I know it because I can see it.  But every time a bleed happens, eventually it clears on its own – at least most of the way.

What I didn’t realize until this most recent appointment is that there is more to this mess than meets the eye.  (Bad pun.)  In fact, lurking just outside of my vision…just on the edges of my periphery…is a nasty, big-assed clot.

Apparently said clot does not pose any significant risk to my long-term health.  It’s quite happy to keep hanging out in my vitreous and has no intention of migrating to more dangerous parts of my body.  It doesn’t indicate retinal scarring.  Nope, in it’s current location, it’s pretty non-threatening.

The problem is, if it decides to move out of my periphery and into my central vision, it will be pretty miserable.  My doc made it sound like I could expect to see pretty much shit-all through that eye if this were to happen.

So now I have the added “suspense” of wondering whether I will wake up to this one morning.  Or will I have to watch it slowly slide into my vision?  I’m not sure which would be worse.

But he assured me that a vitrectomy would clear it up if needed, and that there should be no permanent damage (barring the risks related to a vitrectomy).

Or, he said, if it did make a move and block my vision, we could try waiting for it to clear.

*Sigh*

6 responses to this post.

  1. Wow, I had the surgery on my left eye in 2005 and on my right in 2006. If you have any questions let me know.

    Reply

    • I just read part 1 and that’s exactly how it started for me, no signs of diabetes in my eyes before pregnancy but the day before I had her (they had to induce me because of my blood pressure and eye hemorrage) it happened in my left eye. Mine did not get better, they sealed the leaks and I had a vitrectomy a month later. A few months later it happened in my right eye.

      Reply

  2. Hang in there Bethany! Waiting sucks, but don’t let your brain run wild imagining up worst case scenarios.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Sylvie on October 23, 2012 at 12:31 pm

    So sorry to hear, so frustrated for you…hug!

    Reply

  4. Posted by Anais on October 23, 2012 at 9:41 pm

    I have written to you before. My story is similar to yours. I gave birth to my first baby girl October 2011. I had my first hemmorage November 2011. After that I have had numerous laser sessions as well as many injections. Bleeding on and off since Avastin would only last at the most 3 to 4 months. I had a horrible bleed on my left eye in August 2012. Mine was not a hemmorage that floated. It was a bunch of weak vessels that just bursted. So I had a Vitrectomy :( everything was awesome until one month later I had a horrible hemmorage due to the vitrectomy! Can you believe that?! Apparently doc said that it’s impossible to take out all the vessels and there is a 25% chance of bleeding after surgery. More than black spots it just became a haze due to the fact that I don’t have a vitreous any more. The story goes on and on. Waiting on my right eye to bleed heavily in order to have a vitrectomy too. My only hope is that doc said that once I have a vitrectomy on both eyes it was going to be much easier overall including if we decide to get pregnant again. I know exactly what you feel. Going to sleep at night hoping to not see a horrible spot when you open your eyes. You’re not alone. Will keep you in my prayers :)

    Reply

  5. Thanks all for your support and your kind comments. <3

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 586 other followers

