3rd Trimester Ophtho Appointment – A Sigh of Relief

This afternoon I had an appointment with Dr. Ophtho.  We had scheduled it for this point in my pregnancy specifically because this was the point at which he noticed new proliferation in my left eye during my last pregnancy.  With the baby’s recent growth, I was a bit nervous that I’d be seeing growth in my retinal blood vessels as well.

So I was very relieved to hear the “no changes” verdict.  YAY!  Unlike my last pregnancy, I can probably safely say at this point that this pregnancy will not have advanced my retinopathy!  This is absolutely wonderful news!

And considering that I’m still not having any blood pressure problems, hopefully I’ll be free from any pregnancy-related retinal bleeds as well!  *fingers crossed*

The icing on the cake was when I asked him when he wanted to see me next.  His answer:  6 months!  I’m sure those of you with annual ophtho appointments are wondering why this is good news, so let me tell you.  Ever since The Kid was born and I had The First Bleed, he’s been requesting to see me in 4 months.  For him to ask me to come back in 6 means that he feels my eyes are stable – or as stable as can be expected given their recent history.

Yep, the icing on the cake. :)

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by teasin on March 19, 2012 at 11:23 pm

    Wow! That’s a lot of low-carb sugar-free icing indeed!

    Reply

  2. I tried to comment on this yesterday, but apparently school internet ate it :].

    So happy for you to be spacing out the appointments again! YAY! ['Course, this means we may never be able to take the post-drops waiting room by storm together ;).]

    All the best for continued Good Things to come!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 586 other followers

