Pregnancy Update – 32 Weeks

It seems that blogging during this pregnancy has been easier said than done.  I was really hoping to keep on top of things and keep everyone up to date, but clearly I’m failing to do so.  Bad, busy, pregnant me.  Anyway, today I do have an update – complete with pictures (which you may have already seen if you’re Facebook friends with me).

Maybe I’ll start with the pictures.

First of all, this one is me, taken yesterday at 32 weeks, in the classic “bathroom mirror phone photo” (thanks to having nobody around to take it for me).

Next, these two shots are from our first Fetal Assessment ultrasound three weeks ago (i.e. at 29 weeks) – one of her profile, and one of her face.

And finally, this is a close-up of the lower portion of her face (nose/mouth/chin) from this past Thursday – one day short of 32 weeks.  We can hardly believe the resemblance to her older sister already!

And now to bring you up to speed…

1. Doctors Appointments

They are ramping up big time.  I’ve been seeing the endo every three weeks (but expecting to go to every two after this coming week’s appointment), and the OB every two.  I have had two Fetal Assessments that were three weeks apart, but I’ve now been asked to come every week.  I haven’t had any recent visits with the ophtho – only two so far during pregnancy – but I have one coming up in about two weeks.  I also have phone appointments with my diabetes nurse every 3 weeks to do some more detailed problem-solving than what we have time for at my endo appointments.  So it’s busy.

The good news is that everything is going great and everyone on my medical team is really pleased!  Yay!  My A1C has been hovering just above and just below 6.0% (which I am thrilled with!), my BP is consistently under 120/80 (last one was 118/73), my weight gain is approximately 23lbs (perfect at this point), no thyroid issues, very little swelling (only a bit every few days in my ankles), and generally no sign of any problems.  The baby is hovering right around the 50th percentile size-wise, so I can’t complain about that either.  My left eye bleeds a little from time to time, but always from the same spot it did pre-pregnancy, and never very much.

All in all, I’m almost the picture of diabetic-pregnancy health!  It’s been so much work, but so worth it to have come this far already.  We don’t have a c-section scheduled yet, but my OB is still aiming for the week of April 9th-13th (i.e between 37 and 38 weeks…hopefully closer to 38).  The more confident he sounds in those dates, the more confident I’m feeling that this pregnancy is on the right track!

2. Missing Out on Important Things

No, this isn’t about “important things” like donuts, burgers and Snickers bars.  This is about the fact that, in spite of all the good stuff in #1 above, my OB asked (read: begged) me not to take a trip to Victoria, British Columbia at my 31-week mark.  The “important thing” in Victoria: my best friend from childhood.  The “important event”: her wedding.  There are few things in this world that could have kept me from watching this woman I love so dearly marry her soul mate (who I also love dearly, by virtue of how dearly I know he loves her), but this was one of those things.

While there was nothing to indicate any current health problems, my OB was worried that any additional stress of travel, etc, could start to cause that dreaded increase in blood pressure that could start the downward spiral we saw last go around.  Since my health, and the health of my baby (including the amount of time she gets to bake in my womb) is the highest priority for me right now, and since I trust my OB immeasurably (he is a very reasonable doctor, and an expert at what he does…not to mention a saint, but that’s another story), I had no choice but to heed his advice and stay home.  It was the right thing to do, but it seriously sucked.  Seriously.

3. Comparing Pregnancies

When I was pregnant with The Kid (i.e. the first one), I kept a pregnancy journal, so it’s been really interesting to look back and see the similarities and the differences.  On the side of differences, last time at this point I was having major swelling in my feet (read: compression socks and an inability to tie my shoes), and quickly rising blood pressure.  I was also significantly heavier by this point.  (For comparison, last time I gained 50lbs during the entire pregnancy and this time it’s looking like I’ll come in around 30lbs total weight gain, unless something drastic happens between now and my c-section.)

On the side of similarities, I was having some major insulin resistance (check), bad infusion site absorption (check) and was waking up every 2 hours at night to pee and/or check my bloodsugar (double check).  I was also entering “indigestion mode” again (seems to be a 1st and 3rd trimester thing), which is pretty much right on target again this time around.

It’s interesting how two pregnancies really can be so different, yet have some very distinct similarities.  I’m not complaining about any of the “similarities” though when I see how lucky I am to have the “differences”.

4. Insulin Resistance

I mentioned it above, but I’m mentioning it again.  Insulin resistance is huge in 3rd trimester!!  My bolus requirements at meals are more than double what they were pre-pregnancy.  I’m moderating my carbs a lot more with this pregnancy than I was with the last one so as to avoid massive insulin doses with the still-unavoidable (for me) bloodsugar spike-and-drop combo.  It’s really making a difference and it makes me wonder how I managed last time on a carby diet!  I’ve learned so much about my diabetes since then…  Last time it wasn’t abnormal for me to have highs in the high teens and low 20s (that’s the 300-400 mg/dl range) – not every day and not even every week, but every now and then when things weren’t working right.  This time my bloodsugar ceiling has been 17 mmol/l (~300 mg/dl), and I’m happy to say that I’ve only been that high twice in the last 7 months (making me a much less guilt-ridden Mommy than last time).  I’m at the point now where I feel high (and talk in terms of being high) when I’m above 9.0 mmol/l (~160 mg/dl).  It’s nowhere near perfect, but I feel like I’m giving this baby a much better growing environment this time than I was able to with Baby A last time, and that feels very satisfying.

Anyway, away from that tangent and back to insulin resistance.  I have it bad.  And it’s mostly around meals.  In fact, with my superbolus strategy (i.e. borrow basal insulin to add to meal boluses, and then follow it up with a 2-3 hour significant drop in basals), I’m seeing my basals drop significantly because of how much insulin I’m having to take when I eat.  So it’s this weird balancing act these days – add to the bolus, drop the basal, add a bit more to the bolus, drop the basal even more.  I find I’m pretty much assessing and re-assessing trends every 3-4 days now.  I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again – how anyone who is not an analytical Type A personality does this is beyond me.  I’m the kind of person who thrives on numbers and analysis and control and even I’m burning out!

5. Looking Ahead

Now that the end is in sight (hopefully still in as close to 6 weeks as possible and not sooner), I’m starting to think more about the time after Baby B comes, including my diabetes/diet management and my maternity leave.  I’ve realized two things:

a) There are going to be some days where I eat what I want to in spite of what I know it will do to my bloodsugar.  I don’t even mean donuts, etc.  I mean a bowl of cereal with milk, a real sandwich (on something other than skinny slices of high-fibre Weight Watchers bread), chicken fingers and french fries…things like that.  And I don’t mean on a regular basis.  I do still plan to go back to the low(ish) carb way of eating that I followed pre-pregnancy (and that I’ve only slightly modified during pregnancy), but I also plan on giving myself the leeway to have some exceptions – something I’m not really allowing myself in any major capacity these days.

b) I’m hoping I can get myself a bit further immersed in the D.O.C. while I’m on mat leave.  I see so much good stuff out there that I’d love to participate in more fully, but it’s so hard to find the time when I’m juggling work and my family and the rest of my life.  If I have a relatively happy baby (which I didn’t last time, so I’m still crossing my fingers about this for Baby B), I’m hoping to be able to participate more in online chats, diabetes blog memes, and a LOT more reading of blogs by my fellow D-bloggers.

And hopefully it will also mean more frequent blog updates here!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 587 other followers

