12 of 12 – October

12 of 12 was created by Chad Darnell (you can find his website and a bunch of 12 of 12 links here), and has bloggers worldwide taking 12 photos throughout the day on the 12th day of each month.

If you missed them, you can check out my 12 of 12 for previous months here!

And now here, a few days late (as usual), are my October 12!

1. It was my mom’s birthday last week, and since she and my dad were out of the country, I ended up sending her card a little late.  Hopefully it made it there before she got home!  These cute little butterflies were on the envelope.  I love Papyrus cards!

2. My daily calendar joke for the 12th.  Yes, most of them are this lame.

3.  Coffee.  Decaf.  (Because of the pregnancy.)  I’m sometimes having coffee aversions, but I felt like one.  The blah colour is due to my addition of CoffeeMate, since my pregnant digestive system seems to reject dairy when it’s in my coffee.  WTH, digestive system?

4.  Cold day, warm sweater.  I truly don’t understand how something with so many holes in it can be so ridiculously warm and cozy, but it was.

5.  You have no idea how excited I was about this sandwich.  It had been about a year and a half since I’d brought a sandwich to work for lunch.  My carb-management (and bloodsugar-spike management) always involves bringing a salad.  At home I sometimes do sandwiches, because I’m usually on my feet in the afternoon, but the ass-sitting at work generally necessitates a salad.  But there was leftover turkey from (Canadian) Thanksgiving.  It required a sandwich.  With a bit of 100% whole wheat Weight Watchers bread, I managed 15g (net) of carbs – plus the little bit in the tomato and mayo.  And it was good.  Sooooo good.

6. Acupuncture appointment right after lunch.  My acupuncturist/massage therapist has this tree on the wall of her waiting room.  I kinda like it.

7.  I have a Post-It problem.  These are the notes I reuse on a regular basis, so I leave them on my cabinet for the next time I’ll need them, instead of rewriting them every time.  That’s why they’re a bit dog-eared (i.e. the sticking and removing and re-sticking).  I’m not going to explain what all of them mean.  If you’re dying to know about one of them you can ask me.

8.  We stopped for a couple of groceries on the way home and got caught in a torrential downpour.  Unfortunately I missed getting a picture of the rain, so a picture of the groceries will have to do.  (I should point out that I’m not a hard-core organic food eater.  If you see this picture and come to expect this type of food comments/suggestions from me in the future, you’ll be disappointed.  Sorry.  They were the only available romaine hearts.)

9.  This book used to be mine, but now my daughter has inherited it.  When I was a kid I loved LOVED Curious George!  But now as a parent, I’m finding these books (the old ones, anyway) to be a bit weird.  The original one is basically about George being poached from the jungle by the Man With the Yellow Hat.  Hmm…..  The one pictured here isn’t so bad.

10.  Not just one, but two of my bathroom lights burned out.  Now it’s even more difficult to wake up in the morning since it’s all dim in there.

11.  I’ve been eating a lot of these lately.  My last pregnancy only came with heartburn in the 3rd trimester, but this one’s involved a lot in the 1st already.  It makes me a bit worried for the 3rd (trimester, not pregnancy).

12.  The Kid inherited these shoes from the neighbour girl.  They’re still a tiny bit too big, but she loves LOVES Dora, so we’re making them work.  She was so excited!

That’s all for this month’s 12!

2 responses to this post.

  1. OMG TEENY DORA SHOES!! :]
    I also have a zillion post-it’s around. But yours are prettier, mine are just the square kind.

    I also totally love that tree. I kind of want one for my room ;).

    Great 12 as always!

    Reply

  2. Loved the 12 as always!
    the sandwich made me really miss sandwiches.
    I like the randomness of these 12 of 12′s.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 587 other followers

