Good News: I’m Pregnant!

After the bad news of a few days ago, I’m happy to now be able to give you some good news:  I’m pregnant!

You may recall that my Ophthalmologist surprised me a number of months ago by giving me the go-ahead to try to have another child.  Since then, my husband and I have spent a lot of time weighing the risks (that do exist in spite of said “go-ahead”) against our desire to have a second child.  It’s been quite a process, but a few months ago we decided that we were willing to take the risk.  (Okay, to be fair it was mostly about my willingness to take these risks…but also his willingness to live with whatever outcomes there may be.)

And now, a few months later, here I sit with a tiny bun in my oven.  :)

I’m actually only 8 1/2 weeks pregnant.  Our intention had been to wait until the 12 week mark to go public with our news.  But my belly seems to remember all-to-well exactly what to do when pregnant, and is already creeping outwards on me.  It’s still hideable, but with difficulty.  (I’m pretty small, so even a small bump can raise questions.)  Between that and various planning/scheduling for the months (and years, actually) ahead, it was proving to be pretty stressful to hide our news.  If you’ve been pregnant with diabetes before, you’ll know that this combination already carries a shitload of stress, so we’re opting for stress-reduction in as many ways possible.  Going public now is one of those ways.

Plus now I can blog about it. :)

On the topic of blogging, my last pregnancy is actually what got me blogging in the first place.  You can read all about it here if you’d like.  For this pregnancy, I intend to keep blogging here at MeWithD instead of going back to my old one.  It won’t likely be in as much detail as the PregnantBethany blog, and I will continue to include non-pregnancy-related content here, but my preference is definitely to keep everything in one place instead of managing multiple blogs.

So far the pregnancy has gone very smoothly.  My last one involved a fair bit of anxiety (which I’m prone to) and nausea (which causes more anxiety)  in the first trimester.  Both of those led to higher than optimal bloodsugars at the outset of the last one.  This time I’ve been terribly tired, but my anxiety has been significantly less, and my nausea has been minimal.  I get a bit queasy when I’m over-tired or under too much stress, but otherwise my tummy is pretty happy.  Thankfully this has helped me maintain pretty great bloodsugar control so far (well, after that last A1C, anyway…which was largely from pre-pregnancy levels).  Like last time, I have a great team of medical professionals behind me, so I’m feeling pretty good about my ability to keep things tightly controlled.  I’ll do my best to keep you posted on that.

You may be wondering about last weekend’s retinal bleed and how it may or may not be related, since obviously my eyes are one of the bigger risks of pregnancy.  At this point I have no reason to believe that this bleed was related to the pregnancy at all. It’s likely too early in the pregnancy to be developing any more neo-vascularization (which hopefully won’t happen at all), and my BP is still great (hitting numbers like 120/70 and 108/60 – so definitely not elevated).  Plus, this bleed was very similar to others I’ve had while not pregnant, so I’m chalking it up to “it would have happened anyway”.

I still haven’t seen Dr. Ophtho, actually.  I see him the week after next.  In the past he’s told me that I don’t need to tell him about every bleed – only the ones that indicate some potential for retinal detachment (e.g. accompanied by lots of flashes as well).  Besides, he won’t do a vitrectomy when I’m pregnant, and (if I’m remembering correctly) he won’t do Avastin shots while I’m pregnant either….so there hasn’t really been any reason to discuss this last one with him, since I’m seeing him so soon anyway.

So the eye thing – most likely totally unrelated.  (But still really crappy.)

Anyway…I’m excited to finally be able to share my news here!  What makes it even more enjoyable is the fact that I can do it on a day that I’m taking a “logging break”.  I’ve been filling out frickin’ diabetes logs every day since the day I found out I was pregnant and I needed a break!  So I took one.

And now my plan is to try to enjoy this pregnancy (hopefully with stable 2nd trimester bloodsugars) and rest a bit while I gear up for the onslaught of OB appointments, Endo appointments, Ophtho appointments, CDE appointments and Fetal Assessments that will become my life in a few short months.  All with the goal of doing everything I can to protect this wonderful little Bean that is currently making a home of my womb.  :)

13 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Sylvie on September 23, 2011 at 2:14 pm

    Very exciting…..CONGRATS!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Sydney on September 23, 2011 at 2:33 pm

    YEA! congratulations

    Reply

  3. that’s wonderful news! congratulations!

    Reply

  4. Congrats, Bethany!!! I’m so excited for you and so excited to follow your journey. I am t1 diabetic (16 years) and currently pregnant with my first diabetic pregnancy (16 weeks). :)

    Reply

  5. here comes number two! Looking forward to following your journey. I was hoping this was the road you guys would choose ;)

    Reply

  6. Thanks, all, for the well-wishes!

    Reply

  7. Posted by marion on September 26, 2011 at 12:30 pm

    congratulations Bethany !

    Reply

  8. Posted by CourtLloyd on September 27, 2011 at 11:03 pm

    I am so excited for you and incredibly happy to have found his blog! I am 31 and have had Type 1 for 23 years. I have a son (11 months old) and had many laser treatments and avastin shots throughout my pregnancy and after. We are thinking about a second child, with the docs OK. I look forward to hearing about your success through the pregnancy. It is really comforting to read about someone else going through the same things…it’s rare! Best wishes!

    Reply

    • Thanks for writing! One of the benefits of writing this blog is that I get to “meet” people like you who are going through the same thing…so I totally hear what you’re saying. :) All the best with your decision regarding a second pregnancy!

      Reply

  9. Congratulations!!

    Reply

  10. […] of D-ladies welcoming little bundles of joy… Congrats to Caroline, Karen and Lisa, Heidi and Bethany are expecting their little ones in […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 587 other followers

