Guest Post: Insights from a Diabetes Muggle

My life is currently in a state of mass chaos, so it’s time for a guest post!  This one is written by my absolutely wonderful Certified Diabetes Educator (and good friend!) Michelle Chrisp!  I hope you all enjoy what Michelle has to say!  Thanks Michelle!

This is my first blog post and I am so honored and excited!  Okay, so I’m going to start off with a preface: I’m a diabetes muggle (Harry Potter fans will get the muggle term). I’m referring to the fact that I’m an outsider- I don’t have diabetes. I’m also referring to the fact that I’m a diabetes nurse educator so I make my living trying to help people with diabetes get as close as possible to that golden A1C target of 7 or less.  Less interested in reading now? I don’t blame you. I don’t live with diabetes and so it’s difficult to relate but after 10 years of working with a wide array of people, you’ve taught me some very important lessons. Here are just some of them:

  1. The insulins on the market are imperfect replacements for what a healthy functioning pancreas can do.
  2. The same insulin will work differently for different people. The same insulin will work differently for the same person on different days.
  3. The human gut plays a huge role in blood glucose. Everyone’s gut is different. Your gut can do different things on different days.
  4. Hormones coming from the brain play a huge role in blood glucose. Your brain hormones can do different things on different days.
  5. The human liver plays a huge role in blood glucose. Everyone’s liver is different. Your liver can do different things on different days.
  6. Living well with diabetes requires psychological resilience and external supports.
  7. Sometimes too much focus on your diabetes can lead to frustration versus improvement.
  8. Fear and guilt and guilt and fear- these are the emotions that plague my clients the most.
  9. Providing support to someone with diabetes means seeing them as the person they are first and as a diabetic second.
  10. Lessons 1-9 make diabetes management more of an art than a science. 
4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Lorraine on October 8, 2010 at 7:23 am

    These are great points. I not only appreciate that you distinguished yourself from people living with diabetes, but I like your Muggle reference too. I suppose as a mom of a child living with type 1 diabetes, I’m a muggle too!

    Reply

  2. I began reading this post as if on the sidelines with all the diabetics gingerly waiting to jump up and pile on top of you. We – in the DOC – can be very tight knit in our little CLIQUE, just like highschool. Anyway, I am happy to report that there will be no pummeling of said CDE. This is the most refreshing post. Its RARE that we hear from the ones we often, ahem, complain about! Where are you and can you be my CDE? There should be more of you out there.
    Thanks Holly for taking that risk! :) kidding.

    Reply

  3. OH shoot I didn’t mean to call you Holly, I was reading her post right before this.

    Reply

  4. AWESOME POST! Thanks :)

    As a D Mama, it’s hard to sit on the outside, yet on the inside, then on the outside, then on the inside….all the while just trying to do the best I can….LOVED IT!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 586 other followers

